- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc on Garnett: There’s a chance, not a very good one

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 28, 2009 @ 11:35 am In General | 1 Comment

WALTHAM – Responding to a radio report by Reggie Miller [1] to Dan Patrick that Kevin Garnett [2] could return if the Celtics [3] made it to the second round, Celtics coach Doc Rivers [4] said this morning that Garnett is still out indefinitely with his sore right knee, adding, “Like I’ve said before, yeah, there’s a chance, it’s not a very good one,” Rivers said. “I guess you could report that and it’s correct but it’d be incorrect.”

Garnett has been reduced to a role of cheerleader during the series, spending most of his time on the Celtics bench while Leon Powe [5] tore the ACL in his left knee in Game 2 and is lost for the playoffs.

Garnett will need surgery on bone spurs in his right knee that are not related to his tendinitis in the back of the same knee. Garnett is holding off on the procedure in the remote hope that he could return if the Celtics advance past the first round.

Meanwhile, no decision has been made on when to proceed with surgery on Powe’s knee.

The Celtics will once again be without Garnett and Leon Powe (left knee) tonight when they battle the Chicago Bulls [6] in Game 5 of the first round Eastern Conference series, with the series tied, 2-2. Gametime is 7 p.m. at TD Banknorth Garden [7]. For more, visit the Green Street blog.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/28/doc-on-garnett-theres-a-chance-not-a-very-good-one/

URLs in this post:

[1] Reggie Miller: http://media.weei.com/basketball/reggie-miller.htm

[2] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[5] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[6] Chicago Bulls: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chicago-bulls.htm

[7] TD Banknorth Garden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/td-banknorth-garden.htm

[8] > Doc on Garnett: There’s a chance, not a very good one" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/28/doc-on-garnett-theres-a-chance-not-a-very-good-one/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.