- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Game 6: First quarter update

Posted By Paul Flannery On April 30, 2009 @ 7:51 pm In General | 1 Comment

After one, the Celtics [1] quest to finish the Bulls [2] got off to a rough start, with Chicago using a 10-0 run to take an early 21-11 advantage and ultimately building a 37-26 lead. The big drama came at the end of the quarter when Rajon Rondo [3] and Kirk Hinrich [4] squared off. Rondo was assessed a Flagrant 1 foul, while Hinrich received a technical. The difference is huge. A Flagrant 2 would have led to Rondo’s ejection.

The refs are calling this one tight. Joakim Noah [5] picked up two quick fouls, but the Celtics couldn’t capitalize because Kendrick Perkins [6] also got two fouls–two more than Perk got in 48 minutes+ of Game 5. Ben Gordon [7] and Brad Miller [8] also picked up two fouls. Without Perkins in the middle, the Bulls attacked the inside of the C’s defense, and when they kicked the ball out John Salmons [9] was there to make six of seven shots and score 16 points.

Ray Allen [10] and Paul Pierce [11] combined for 19 points and Brian Scalabrine [12] came off the bench to score seven. The rest of the team was 0-for-5. The Bulls, meanwhile, shot 68 percent in the first quarter.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/30/game-6-first-quarter-update/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Bulls: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brad-miller-rockets.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Kirk Hinrich: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kirk-hinrich.htm

[5] Joakim Noah: http://media.weei.com/basketball/joakim-noah.htm

[6] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[7] Ben Gordon: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ben-gordon.htm

[8] Brad Miller: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brad-miller-bulls.htm

[9] John Salmons: http://media.weei.com/basketball/john-salmons.htm

[10] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[11] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[12] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[13] > Game 6: First quarter update" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/04/30/game-6-first-quarter-update/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.