- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Game 7: Second quarter update

Posted By Jessica Camerato On May 2, 2009 @ 9:20 pm In General | 1 Comment

For the first time in this series, last season’s playoff atmosphere is back.

Down 27-23 after the first quarter, the Celtics [1] outscored the Bulls 29-11 heading into halftime. In the final eight minutes of the half the Bulls shot 0-6 from the floor while committing 7 turnovers.

Rather than live and die from long range, the Celtics took it inside and scored 16 points in the paint. Even more importantly, they stopped the Bulls from doing the game. The Bulls did not score a single lay up in the entire half (4 points in the paint).

But there is more to this game than inside scoring. The Celtics bench has finally come alive in Game 7. Brian Scalabrine [2], Eddie House [3], and Mikki Moore [4] combined for 18 points. Moore (gasp) even drew an offensive foul.

Ben Gordon [5] leads all scorers with 17 points (5 second quarter). Paul Pierce [6] leads the Celtics with 11 (4/10 FG).


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/02/game-7-second-quarter-update/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[3] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[4] Mikki Moore: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mikki-moore.htm

[5] Ben Gordon: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ben-gordon.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] > Game 7: Second quarter update" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/02/game-7-second-quarter-update/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.