- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Game 1: Second Quarter Update

Posted By Jessica Camerato On May 4, 2009 @ 9:01 pm In General | 1 Comment

There was a glimmer of hope when Stephon Marbury [1] began playing like the Marbury of old. He drove on Dwight Howard [2], pulled up for jumpers, and scored eight points in nine minutes. That was the only highlight of the second quarter for the Celtics [3].

With Paul Pierce [4] sidelined by three fouls, the Celtics shut down on offense. They settled for outside jumpers, stopped penetrating, and got lost in the Magic’s passing game. Ray Allen [5] and Rajon Rondo [6] shot a combined 2-for-14 in the first half. Kendrick Perkins [7] shot 1-for-5 as well. Even though their bench contributed (15 points), that could not compensate for their inability to stop the Magic from getting easy shots (52.4% FG).

At halftime … Magic 54, Celtics 36


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/04/game-1-second-quarter-update/

URLs in this post:

[1] Stephon Marbury: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephon-marbury.htm

[2] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[6] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[7] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[8] > Game 1: Second Quarter Update" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/04/game-1-second-quarter-update/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.