- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Game 2 update: First quarter

Posted By Paul Flannery On May 6, 2009 @ 8:34 pm In General | 1 Comment

In a complete role-reversal the Celtics [1] have come out and taken it to Orlando in the opening quarter with a 26-21 lead. Rajon Rondo [2] racked up eight points, there rebounds and four assists, while Ray Allen [3] scored eight points to go with five rebounds and Kendrick Perkins–who has more than held his own against Dwight Howard–has five points and five boards. The only downside for the Celtics is Paul Pierce [4] who picked up two quick fouls and also banged knees with Hedo Turkoglu [5]. He was limping noticeably while he was on the court.

The Magic are being bailed out by J.J. Redick. Yes, that J.J. Redick who drained three 3-pointers and scored 11 points. Rashard Lewis, meanwhile, is just 1-for-4 from the floor and Orlando is shooting 32 percent.

There were two interesting subs by Doc Rivers [6]. First, he brought in Brian Scalabrine [7] for Big Baby Davis just two minutes into the quarter. Davis appeared unhappy with the move and he and Rivers had a 15-second chat on the sideline when he cane out. The other sub was when Doc called on Stephon Marbury [8] to replace Pierce. That forced the Magic to guard three guards (hello, Chicago) and forced Turkoglu to chase Marbury around.

Also: McLovin is in the house. Repeat: McLovin is in the house.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/06/game-2-update-first-quarter/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Hedo Turkoglu: http://media.weei.com/basketball/hedo-turkoglu.htm

[6] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[7] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[8] Stephon Marbury: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephon-marbury.htm

[9] > Game 2 update: First quarter" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/06/game-2-update-first-quarter/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.