- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

The Courtney Lee experience

Posted By Paul Flannery On May 8, 2009 @ 8:36 pm In General | 1 Comment

Courtney Lee [1] wasn’t supposed to play a lot tonight. So much for that plan. The Magic rookie guard suffered a fractured sinus in Game 5 of Orlando’s series with Philadelphia after he caught an elbow from teammate Dwight Howard [2] and had to be fitted for a mask.

He worked out in Boston, but Magic coach Stan Van Gundy [3] told the press that he wasn’t sure what Lee would be able to give his team back in Orlando. Perhaps Van Gundy was posturing, or maybe the coach didn’t have much choice after losing Rafer Alston [4] to a suspension, but Lee played in the first half and he played a lot.

Lee logged 20 minutes and made an immediate impact scoring 10 points and making several energy/hustle plays. Lee recorded a +12 in plus/minus, second only to Rashard Lewis at +15.

Doc Rivers [5] was pretty sure Lee would get some big minutes in this game. “He’s a tough kid,” Rivers said, and he’s made things tough on the Celtics [6] thus far.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/08/the-courtney-lee-experience/

URLs in this post:

[1] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[2] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[3] Stan Van Gundy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stan-van-gundy.htm

[4] Rafer Alston: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rafer-alston.htm

[5] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[6] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[7] > The Courtney Lee experience" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/08/the-courtney-lee-experience/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.