- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Game 5: First quarter update

Posted By Paul Flannery On May 12, 2009 @ 8:31 pm In General | 2 Comments

What can you say about a quarter in which the home team shoots 6-for-22 and the visiting team’s All-Star center grabs nine rebounds and scores zero points? The operative word here is “bizarre.”

The Celtics [1] came out with a lot of energy and seemed a step ahead of Orlando, but after getting an early 8-4 lead, it’s been all Magic. Orlando has been aggressively helping on any and every Celtics drive to the basket and that has let to a lot of kick-out jump shots. Make that a lot of kick-out jump shot misses.

Ray Allen’s cold shooting has continued (0-for-4) and Rajon Rondo [2] and Paul Pierce [3] are each 1-for-4. The Magic, meanwhile, have relied on Rashard Lewis and Hedo Turkoglu [4] who scored 14 points and combined to go 7-for-9 from the floor.

The second unit is for the Celtics. Kendrick Perkins [5] and Pierce are the only starters to start the second quarter with Brian Scalabrine [6], Stephon Marbury [7] and Eddie House [8].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/12/game-5-first-quarter-update-2/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[4] Hedo Turkoglu: http://media.weei.com/basketball/hedo-turkoglu.htm

[5] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[6] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[7] Stephon Marbury: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephon-marbury.htm

[8] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[9] > Game 5: First quarter update" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/12/game-5-first-quarter-update-2/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.