- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Pierce makes second-team All NBA

Posted By Paul Flannery On May 13, 2009 @ 1:32 pm In General | 1 Comment

Paul Pierce [1] was selected to the All-NBA Second Team the league announced today. Pierce had been on three All-NBA Third Teams (2001-02, 2002-03 and 200708), but this this is the first time he has cracked the Second Team barrier.

No other Celtics [2] made First, Second or Third team All-NBA, although Kevin Garnett [3], Ray Allen [4] and Rajon R0ndo also received votes. This was not one of the captain’s better seasons statistically, but he earned praise for keeping the team together during an injury-plagued second half and for several clutch performances.

LeBron James [5] was the only unanimous selection.

First Team

G: Dwyane Wade [6]

G: Kobe Bryant [7]

F: LeBron James

F: Dirk Nowitzki [8]

C: Dwight Howard [9]

Second Team

G: Brandon Roy [10]

G: Chris Paul [11]

F: Paul Pierce

F: Tim Duncan [12]

C: Yao Ming [13]

Third Team

G: Tony Parker [14]

G: Chauncey Billups [15]

F: Carmelo Anthony

F: Pau Gasol [16]

C: Shaquille O’Neal [17]


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/13/pierce-makes-second-team-all-nba/

URLs in this post:

[1] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[6] Dwyane Wade: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwyane-wade.htm

[7] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[8] Dirk Nowitzki: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dirk-nowitzki.htm

[9] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[10] Brandon Roy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-roy.htm

[11] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[12] Tim Duncan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tim-duncan.htm

[13] Yao Ming: http://media.weei.com/basketball/yao-ming.htm

[14] Tony Parker: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-parker.htm

[15] Chauncey Billups: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chauncey-billups.htm

[16] Pau Gasol: http://media.weei.com/basketball/pau-gasol.htm

[17] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[18] > Pierce makes second-team All NBA" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/13/pierce-makes-second-team-all-nba/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[19]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.