- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Game 6 First Quarter Blog thoughts

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 14, 2009 @ 7:36 pm In General | 1 Comment

ORLANDO – Some early thoughts from Amway Arena. Doc Rivers [1], who stressed the importance of his big men to play disciplined before the game,  sent an early message to Glen Davis [2]. The hero of Game 4 would not return the rest of the quarter as the Celtics [3] shot out to a 25-22 lead after one, quieting a crowd that was already nervous.

At 10:41, after getting Boston’s first basket on a layup, Davis pulled out after committing first foul and replaced by Brian Scalabrine [4]. At 9:29 Dwight Howard [5] dunked for his first basket. At 9:09, Howard with a put-back dunk. At 8:33 Perkins as shot clock expired. At 7:46 Howard gets easy layup then taunts and gets a technical foul.

Howard started 3-for-4 while the rest of the team started 0-for-9 before Rafer Alston [6] drilled a three-pointer midway through the quarter.

Magic were ice cold in first quarter and shot just 9-for-26.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/14/game-6-first-quarter-blog-thoughts/

URLs in this post:

[1] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[2] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[5] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[6] Rafer Alston: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rafer-alston.htm

[7] > Game 6 First Quarter Blog thoughts" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/14/game-6-first-quarter-blog-thoughts/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.