- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Game 6 second quarter blog thoughts

Posted By Mike Petraglia On May 14, 2009 @ 8:18 pm In General | 1 Comment

ORLANDO – Kendrick Perkins [1] started to show some frustration in his battle with Dwight Howard [2]. He lost a battle for a loose ball rebound with 1:05 remaining. When he voiced his disgust to veteran referee Dan Crawford, he was whistled for a technical.

The Magic closed the first half on a 12-4 run to tied the game. Rashard Lewis’ floater hit the rim twice before falling through with 29 seconds remaining to tie the game, 44-44. Paul Pierce [3] hit two free throws with six seconds to go before Rafer Alston [4] hit one of two with 2.6 ticks remaining as the Celtics [5] took a 46-45 lead to the locker room. Brian Scalabrine [6] continues to be the biggest unsung hero of the Celtics playoff run. And arguably of the entire NBA playoffs [7].

He was diving all over the court again in the second quarter, scrambling for a loose ball and finding Eddie House [8] for a jumper as the shot clock expired with 6:20 remaining in the quarter. On the next Celtics possession, he drained a three-pointer, restoring Boston’s lead to seven, 38-31.

Speaking of which, Kevin Garnett [9] and Brian Scalabrine spent much of one timeout going over positioning on the court, in a lively and animated exchange.

The Celtics appeared ready to pull away from a dispirited Magic bunch only to have a veteran provide some spark.

At the 10:28 mark, Anthony Johnson hit a three with the Celtics leading 31-22, starting a 7-0 run before Kendrick Perkins drilled a jumper to end the mini-run.

After sitting most of the first quarter after picking up an early foul, Glen Davis [10] returned to the game to guard Dwight Howard and give Perkins a break. But two quck fouls gave Davis three and return ticket to the bench. With 1:20 remaining, Rondo ran down the court trying to guard Rafer Alston and ran into Howard’s left arm. Rondo was called for the foul.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/14/game-6-second-quarter-blog-thoughts/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[2] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[3] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[4] Rafer Alston: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rafer-alston.htm

[5] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[6] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[7] NBA playoffs: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-playoffs.htm

[8] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[9] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[10] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[11] > Game 6 second quarter blog thoughts" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/14/game-6-second-quarter-blog-thoughts/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.