- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Game 7: Buzzkill

Posted By Paul Flannery On May 17, 2009 @ 10:08 pm In General | 2 Comments

Before the fourth quarter started the Celtics [1] luminaries were shown on the Jumbotron. Kc Jones, JoJo White and John Havlicek were all presented one by one and the Garden was rocking.

And then… Mickael Pietrus [2] happened. First he banged a 3-pointer and then after Courtney Lee [3] finished off a three-point play, Pietrus scored on a pull-up jumper to make it 74-61 with 10:30 left.

Doc Rivers [4] called a timeout and as the crowd sat in stunned silence. Then a “Let’s Go Celtics” chant started up in the rafters and the Garden was brought back to life. Coming out of the timeout, Stephon Marbury [5] missed a 3-pointer and Hedo Turkoglu [6] completed another three-point play to give the Magic their biggest lead of the night at 77-61.

Do the Celtics have one more run in them?


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/17/game-7-buzzkill/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Mickael Pietrus: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mickael-pietrus.htm

[3] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[4] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[5] Stephon Marbury: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephon-marbury.htm

[6] Hedo Turkoglu: http://media.weei.com/basketball/hedo-turkoglu.htm

[7] > Game 7: Buzzkill" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/17/game-7-buzzkill/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.