- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Game 7: Third quarter update

Posted By Paul Flannery On May 17, 2009 @ 10:00 pm In General | 1 Comment

After three, the Magic lead, 66-61.

Every time the Celtics [1] get close enough to really put pressure on Orlando, the Magic find a way to make a play or two. With the score 54-50, Ray Allen [2] had a look at a 3-pointer, but it rimmed out. J.J. Redick and Hedo Turkoglu [3] then hit 3-pointers to make it a 10-point game again.

With the Magic up seven, 64-57, Mickael Pietrus [4] was able to get a layup in transition and Kendrick Perkins [5] missed three shots from in close in rapid succession.

But the Celtics are hanging in there and they have the Magic to thank. Rashard Lewis missed a pair of free throws at the end of the quarter and Rafer Alston [6] fouled Rajon Rondo [7] while he was shooting a fade-away jumper. Then after Courtney Lee [8] missed a 10-footer, Rondo drained a long two at the buzzer.

This sets up the classic fourth quarter situation. If the Magic are going to take a step and advance they will have to hold a lead on the road in a close-out game. The Celtics have 12 minutes to come back from yet another deficit and continue the defense of their title.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/17/game-7-third-quarter-update-2/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[3] Hedo Turkoglu: http://media.weei.com/basketball/hedo-turkoglu.htm

[4] Mickael Pietrus: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mickael-pietrus.htm

[5] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[6] Rafer Alston: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rafer-alston.htm

[7] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[8] Courtney Lee: http://media.weei.com/basketball/courtney-lee.htm

[9] > Game 7: Third quarter update" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/17/game-7-third-quarter-update-2/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.