- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Rivers: “We have to improve our team”

Posted By Jessica Camerato On May 19, 2009 @ 11:54 am In General | 4 Comments

Last summer the biggest question was simple: Will the Celtics [1] re-sign James Posey [2]? This summer, more than a third of the team could be affected by free agency.

On Tuesday, Doc Rivers [3] discussed the future of the Celtics bench WEEI’€™s “Dennis & Callahan.” With the exception of Glen Davis [4], who replaced Kevin Garnett [5] in the starting lineup, all of the Celtics free agents are reserves.

‘€œJust think this year if Kevin was healthy and Leon was healthy, that makes our bench 10 deep. ‘€¦ Those two guys being out really shortened our bench,’€ Rivers said. ‘€œBut we have to improve our team. There’€™s no doubt about that. We don’€™t have to make any changes, but definitely have to make some additions.’€

The Celtics will have to decide the futures of Davis, Leon Powe [6], Eddie House [7], Stephon Marbury [8], Mikki Moore [9], and Gabe Pruitt [10] in the offseason. Davis (restricted) and Marbury (unrestricted) are poised to make the most money of the group. So who is more likely to return to Boston?

‘€œBaby, it will probably come down to what he can get on the open market,’€ said Rivers. ‘€œWith Steph, it will probably come down to what we can get on the open market.’€

The ironic part is none of the Celtics free agents play the role the Celtics are most looking to fill. They still have not figured out how to account for the loss of Posey.

‘€œNumber one, the one spot no one talked about all year, was the small forward spot,’€ Rivers said. ‘€œWe need a small forward who can defend, who can make shots and give Paul (Pierce [11]) a blow. I thought Paul, all year, had to guard the best guys all game. Whenever we took him out, we went small.

‘€œWe put Ray Allen [12] in at small forward, which is a tough matchup. You could see it in the Orlando series. You were almost scared to take Paul off the floor because when you did, Ray Allen was now guarding the Terkoglus or the Rashard Lewises of the world. They went straight to the post, just like every other team did.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/19/rivers-we-have-to-improve-our-team/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] James Posey: http://media.weei.com/basketball/james-posey.htm

[3] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[4] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[5] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[6] Leon Powe: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leon-powe.htm

[7] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[8] Stephon Marbury: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephon-marbury.htm

[9] Mikki Moore: http://media.weei.com/basketball/mikki-moore.htm

[10] Gabe Pruitt: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gabe-pruitt.htm

[11] Paul (Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[12] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[13] > Rivers: “We have to improve our team”" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/19/rivers-we-have-to-improve-our-team/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.