- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Cassell hired as Wizards assistant coach

Posted By Jessica Camerato On May 21, 2009 @ 9:11 pm In General | 5 Comments

Sam Cassell made his goal very clear when he signed with the Boston Celtics [1] in 2008 — he wanted to coach. On Thursday, he accomplished that mission. Cassell was hired by the Washington Wizards [2] to serve as an assistant coach to the newly appointed Flip Saunders [3]. According to Michael Lee of the Washington Post [4], Cassell is already participating in pre-draft workouts.

“After 15 seasons playing in this league, I have accomplished all that I have dreamed of as a player,” Cassell said in a statement issued by the Wizards. “Now the time has come for to me to take my love for the game to the coaching ranks and pass on what I’ve learned. This team is loaded with talent, and it’s a great way for me to start my coaching career.”

Cassell will be part of a coaching staff that has close ties to Kevin Garnett [5]. Cassell and Garnett were teammates in Boston and Minnesota; Saunders served as the Timberwolves [6] head coach for ten seasons; and Wizards assistant coach Randy Wittman coached Garnett in Minnesota during the 2007 season.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/21/cassell-hired-as-wizards-assistant-coach/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Washington Wizards: http://media.weei.com/basketball/washington-wizards.htm

[3] Flip Saunders: http://media.weei.com/basketball/flip-saunders.htm

[4] Washington Post: http://voices.washingtonpost.com/wizardsinsider/2009/05/its_official_cassell_and_wittm.html?wprss=wizardsinsider

[5] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[6] Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[7] > Cassell hired as Wizards assistant coach" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/21/cassell-hired-as-wizards-assistant-coach/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.