- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Reports: Marbury interested in Wizards?

Posted By Jessica Camerato On May 26, 2009 @ 9:58 pm In General | 3 Comments

Last week former Boston Celtic Sam Cassell was hired as an assistant coach for the Washington Wizards [1]. Now there are reports indicating another Celtic PG may be interested in the Wiz.

According to the New York Daily News [2], Stephon Marbury [3] contacted Wizards head coach Flip Saunders [4] nearly every day during the playoffs. The Daily News reported, Saunders “would strongly considering adding Marbury to the roster if there is a vacancy.” Saunders coached Marbury, as well as Cassell and Kevin Garnett [5], during his tenure with the Minnesota Timberwolves [6].

Marbury is one of five members of the 2009 Celtics [7] squad who will be exploring free agency this summer.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/26/reports-marbury-interested-in-wizards/

URLs in this post:

[1] Washington Wizards: http://media.weei.com/basketball/washington-wizards.htm

[2] New York Daily News: http://www.nydailynews.com/blogs/knicks/2009/05/source-says-marbury-could-land.html

[3] Stephon Marbury: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephon-marbury.htm

[4] Flip Saunders: http://media.weei.com/basketball/flip-saunders.htm

[5] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[6] Minnesota Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[7] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[8] > Reports: Marbury interested in Wizards?" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/26/reports-marbury-interested-in-wizards/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.