- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Today in Celtics History: Bird Three-peat

Posted By Jessica Camerato On May 28, 2009 @ 12:08 am In General | 3 Comments

On May 28, 1986, Larry Bird [1] won his third straight NBA MVP Award. He also won the NBA Finals [2] MVP en route to the Celtics 16th world championship over the Houston Rockets [3]. Bird joined Bill Russell [4] and Wilt Chamberlain [5] as the only players to receive the award in three consecutive seasons. Since then four players (Magic Johnson [6], Michael Jordan [7], Tim Duncan [8], Steve Nash [9]) have won back-to-back titles, but no one has accomplished the three-peat.

See how this season’s MVP stacked up to Bird’s award-winning performance: (All stats per regular season game; advantage in bold)

Larry Bird (1986)
Boston Celtics [10]: 67-15 (won NBA Finals)
Points: 25.8
Rebounds: 9.8
Assists: 6.8
FG: 49.6%
3PG: 42.3%
FT: 89.6%
Steals: 2.0
Blocks: 0.6

LeBron James [11] (2009)
Cleveland Cavaliers [12]: 66-16 (down 3-1 in Eastern Conference Finals)
Points: 28.4
Rebounds: 7.6
Assists: 7.2
FG: 48.9%
3PG: 34.4%
FT: 78.0%
Steals: 1.7
Blocks: 1.1

Edge: Bird, 6-3

On the same date in 1978 former Celtics guard, the late Dennis Johnson [13], blocked seven shots in Game 3 of the NBA Finals as a member of the Seattle SuperSonics [14]. No other guard has ever blocked as many shots in an NBA Finals game.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/28/today-in-celtics-history-bird-threepeat/

URLs in this post:

[1] Larry Bird: http://media.weei.com/basketball/larry-bird.htm

[2] NBA Finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[3] Houston Rockets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/houston-rockets.htm

[4] Bill Russell: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-russell.htm

[5] Wilt Chamberlain: http://media.weei.com/basketball/wilt-chamberlain.htm

[6] Magic Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/magic-johnson.htm

[7] Michael Jordan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/michael-jordan.htm

[8] Tim Duncan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tim-duncan.htm

[9] Steve Nash: http://media.weei.com/basketball/steve-nash.htm

[10] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[11] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[12] Cleveland Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[13] Dennis Johnson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dennis-johnson.htm

[14] Seattle SuperSonics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/oklahoma-city-thunder.htm

[15] > Today in Celtics History: Bird Three-peat" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/05/28/today-in-celtics-history-bird-threepeat/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[16]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.