- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Report: Suns haven’t talked to Celtics

Posted By Jessica Camerato On June 5, 2009 @ 2:14 pm In General | 15 Comments

Earlier this week, radio station KTAR in Arizona floated the rumor of trade discussions between the Boston Celtics [1] in Phoenix Suns [2] that would send Ray Allen [3] and Rajon Rondo [4] out west in exchange for Amar’€™e Stoudemire, Leandro Barbosa [5], and the 14th pick.

The Arizona Republic [6] has reported the Suns have not had conversations with the Celtics:

“There’s a lot of stuff flying around out there that has no basis,” Suns General Manager Steve Kerr [7] said. “There’s just a ton of speculation but there really is nothing substantial going on.

“With most of these deals being speculated about, I haven’t even had a conversation with the opposing team. I read this stuff and laugh.”

The notion of trading forty percent of the Celtics starting lineup is startling at first. But there are reasons why Allen and Rondo could be heard in rumors this offseason. Allen turns 34 this summer and is entering the last year of his contract in which he is set to earn nearly $20 million. His expiring deal ‘€“ plus proven track record ‘€“ could make him an attractive option.

Rondo, on the other hand, is just starting to play up to his potential. At 23 he is the type of player a team can build around. The Celtics, however, have to decide how much they want to pay Rondo. He will become a free agent in 2010 so they can either sign him to an extension or take a risk on the going rate next summer.

Either way the Celtics will be financially limited when they try to add depth to their bench this summer and making trades is one way to work around that. It’€™s only the beginning of June and there is no doubt more rumors like this are sure to follow.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/06/05/report-suns-havent-talked-to-celtics/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Phoenix Suns: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phoenix-suns.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Leandro Barbosa: http://media.weei.com/basketball/leandro-barbosa.htm

[6] Arizona Republic: http://www.azcentral.com/sports/suns/articles/2009/06/04/20090604spt-suns.html

[7] Steve Kerr: http://media.weei.com/basketball/steve-kerr.htm

[8] > Report: Suns haven’t talked to Celtics" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/06/05/report-suns-havent-talked-to-celtics/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.