- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Transcript of Wyc Grousbeck with Dale & Holley

Posted By WEEI On June 15, 2009 @ 1:35 pm In General | 2 Comments

Courtesy of Greg Cameron, here are some of the highlights of Celtics [1] co-owner Wyc Grousbeck’s Q-and-A with Dale & Holley this afternoon. (Click here [2] for the audio.)

On if it was painful to see the Lakers win the title: ‘€œIt was. Having had the trophy it’€™s always disappointing to see someone else win it. We’€™re going to try and knock them off their perch next year.’€
On Red Auerbach [3] vs. Phil Jackson [4]: ‘€œI stand with Red. He assembled and coached his teams. He would even arrange trips to Europe and Russia. Sometimes he’€™d even drive the bus. His fingerprints are on every single one of those banners.’€
On the Celtics’€™ chances of repeating had they stayed healthy: ‘€œI think that’€™s for losers to think that way. I don’€™t think that’€™s an out.’€
On Kevin Garnett [5]‘€™s rehab/recovery: ‘€œWe are extremely excited. He’€™s been in the facility everyday, and most of the team’€™s been there as well.’€
Comparing Kobe Bryant [6] and Paul Pierce [7]: ‘€œThere are different ways to look at that.
You have to give [Kobe] his due. I like our team and will focus on helping Danny [Ainge] improve it for next year.’€
Addressing recently swirling trade rumors: ‘€œWhat not many people realize is how many calls are made and received throughout the league. We had a starting five that went a record 27-2. We can also offer someone a full max contract to someone next summer.’€
On his views of the NBA’€™s salary cap: ‘€œI didn’€™t really care about it as a fan. I wanted to put together an ownership group that would be able to put the best team on the floor and win. I’€™ll go find the money, and we’€™ll go in for another banner. The league has things in place to keep a lot of that from happening but we have a good revenue sharing system between the players and the owners in place. There’€™s a lot of sharing in between.’€
On the important free agency summer of 2010: ‘€œThere is a scenario under which we could do that.’€
On the economy’€™s impact on the Celtics: ‘€œWe start with the fans and thank them for their support. I think we have something like 110 sellouts in a row, and the stuck with us despite injuries. We’€™re lucky to have them. They help attract free agents who want to play in front of these fans. We don’€™t want to be smug about how well we’€™re doing; we just want to thank our fans. We’€™re fortunate to also have been able to keep season ticket prices the same for this year.’€
On NBA officiating: ‘€œI think they’€™re trying really hard. I can’€™t say it’€™s getting better. Each call and non-call gets looked at by the league and gets graded. Just by studying those figures, there’€™s no lack of effort, but it’€™s not getting better. Why don’€™t you worry about winning and the officiating last?’€
On how the NBA does business: ‘€œIf there are issues, the league office will resolve it.’€
On how much stock the C’€™s put into a player’€™s character before signing: ‘€œIt’€™s a big deal. It’€™s good to see the players we drafted out of high school like Kendrick Perkins [8] go to a charity dinner and then later in the evening ask us if it’€™s okay to leave. We told him it was perfectly fine. He left this dinner to work out at 10:30 at night. We tell out players that they’€™re going to participate on and off the court. If not, they’€™re gone.’€
On guard Stephon Marbury [9]: ‘€œHe did his part character-wise. He lived up to his word that he wanted to be a good teammate. It didn’€™t entirely work out as we and he had hoped.’€
On the impending NBA Draft: “It won’€™t be a snooze with Danny at the helm. He’€™s made draft-day trades every year. He’€™s always working on deals that day, so we’€™ll see what happens.’€
On Danny Ainge: ‘€œWe’€™re all on the same page. He’€™s a busy guy, a great GM. He was a great hire. We wanted Danny and we got him.’€
On the coach Doc Rivers [10]‘€™ anticipation for next season: ‘€œI received a text from Doc saying, ‘€˜Let’€™s get back to the finals.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/06/15/transcript-of-wyc-grousbeck-with-dale-holley/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] here: http://audio.weei.com/m/22589052/wyc-grousbeck-celtics-managing-partner-governor-and-ceo.htm

[3] Red Auerbach: http://media.weei.com/basketball/red-auerbach.htm

[4] Phil Jackson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phil-jackson.htm

[5] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[6] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[7] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[8] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[9] Stephon Marbury: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stephon-marbury.htm

[10] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[11] > Transcript of Wyc Grousbeck with Dale & Holley" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/06/15/transcript-of-wyc-grousbeck-with-dale-holley/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.