- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Report: Celtics offered Allen, Rondo to Pistons

Posted By Jessica Camerato On June 23, 2009 @ 12:51 am In General | 7 Comments

Adrian Wojnarowski of Yahoo! Sports [1] has reported the Boston Celtics [2] offered Ray Allen [3] and Rajon Rondo [4] to the Detroit Pistons [5] in a package deal that included Rip Hamilton, Tayshaun Prince [6], and Rodney Stuckey [7]. According to Wojnarowski, the deal was proposed by a lower-level Celtics executive last weekend and was rejected by the Pistons before the conversations escalated to a discussion between general managers Danny Ainge and Joe Dumars.

“This isn’€™t an uncommon occurrence for a GM like Ainge to dispatch an underling to make that kind of a call, if for no other reason to give the top executive some level of deniability that he’€™s shopping his stars,” Wojnarowski wrote.

Both Allen and Rondo have been mentioned in nearly every Celtics trade rumor this offseason, largely because of their contracts. Allen is entering the final season of his deal while the Cs have to decide whether or not to extend Rondo’s contract by this October. Rondo recently told WEEI he does not expect to be traded [8] this summer.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/06/23/report-celtics-offered-allen-rondo-to-pistons/

URLs in this post:

[1] Yahoo! Sports: http://sports.yahoo.com/nba/news;_ylt=AmJcMWBCnG2EOoMpyA_Hjv05nYcB?slug=aw-celticspistons062209&prov=yhoo&type=lgns

[2] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Detroit Pistons: http://media.weei.com/basketball/detroit-pistons.htm

[6] Tayshaun Prince: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tayshaun-prince.htm

[7] Rodney Stuckey: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rodney-stuckey.htm

[8] he does not expect to be traded: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/06/19/rondo-does-not-expect-to-be-traded/

[9] > Report: Celtics offered Allen, Rondo to Pistons" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/06/23/report-celtics-offered-allen-rondo-to-pistons/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.