- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Blogging the Draft

Posted By Paul Flannery On June 25, 2009 @ 7:43 pm In General | 3 Comments

– And we’re underway. The Clippers kicked off the 2009 NBA Draft by taking Oklahoma forward Blake Griffin [1], who is the only sure thing in the draft. Griffin should be an immediate impact player provided the Clips can trade away at least one of the following veteran big men: Marcus Camby [2], Chris Kaman [3] or Zach Randolph [4].

— Jay Bilas just added “Beasted” to the lexicon, as in: DeJuan Blair [5] beasted Hasheem Thabeet. Let’s hope he retires that one post-haste. Thabeet is the easy winner for 2009’s awesomest suit award, however. Blinding. So far the draft is unfolding in an orderly manner. This makes me nervous.

— OKC takes James Harden [6] No. 3. Harden is the Blake Griffin of 2-guards in this draft in that he is very likely to be good and in a perfect world could be excellent. Now we begin the Ricky Rubio [7] watch.

— So the Kings are sitting there with both Rubio (whom my girl friend said looked scruffy in a Zac Efron way. I have no idea what that means) and Tyreke Evans [8] from Memphis by way of the Philly suburbs. What to do? The pick is in and it’s Evans. Stu Scott keeps insisting that Evans is a point guard. I’m not so sure about that, but he is a player.

— Ru-bio! Ru-bio! Boy he did NOT look happy to go to Minnesota. Does this mean the Bassy Telfair era is over? Did it ever begin? “I’m Ricky Rubio. I’m not like anybody else.” Quote of the draft so far.

— Ooooh shocker! There’s no way Minnesota is taking Jonny Flynn too. This has to be for somebody else, right? Right? Interestingly, Ric Bucher just said they’re keeping both players. This provides some protection in case Rubio’s buyout gets complicated.

— Booooooooo! Golden State takes Stephen Curry, which leads to a forced Stu Scott joke and lets the New York fans do what they do best on draft night. I know New York fans fixated on Curry, but I’m not so sure he’ll be much more than a 3-point specialist. So who do the Knicks take here? We’ve hit the nobody knows portion of the draft.

Jordan Hill [9] is it. Safe pick. Boooooo!

— Here come the freshmen. The Raptors took DeMar DeRozen who could be really, really good or really, really meh. Bilas is trying to equate DeRozen with Amare Stoudemire because they both went No. 9, which is a huge reach. It’s a good fit for DeRozen though because the Raps have no one on the wing.

— Milwaukee takes Brandon Jennings [10], who I wrote about [11]the other day. Right now Jennings is interesting because of his circumstances, i.e. skipping college and playing in Europe. Jeff Van Gundy just made a good point that Jennings is fortunate to play for Scott Skiles [12], who is not the easiest coach to play for but that’s probably what he needs right now. Wonder what this means for Ramon Sessions?


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/06/25/blogging-the-draft/

URLs in this post:

[1] Blake Griffin: http://media.weei.com/basketball/blake-griffin.htm

[2] Marcus Camby: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marcus-camby.htm

[3] Chris Kaman: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-kaman.htm

[4] Zach Randolph: http://media.weei.com/basketball/zach-randolph.htm

[5] DeJuan Blair: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dejuan-blair.htm

[6] James Harden: http://media.weei.com/basketball/james-harden.htm

[7] Ricky Rubio: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ricky-rubio.htm

[8] Tyreke Evans: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyreke-evans.htm

[9] Jordan Hill: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jordan-hill.htm

[10] Brandon Jennings: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-jennings.htm

[11] who I wrote about : http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/celtics/paul-flannery/2009/06/23/five-things-we-know-about-years-nba-draft

[12] Scott Skiles: http://media.weei.com/basketball/scott-skiles.htm

[13] > Blogging the Draft" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/06/25/blogging-the-draft/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[14]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.