- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Another head coaching vacancy opens

Posted By Jessica Camerato On June 30, 2009 @ 1:36 pm In General | 1 Comment

On Tuesday the Detroit Pistons [1] announced Michael Curry [2] will not return next season after his first year as an NBA head coach. Curry led the Pistons to a 39-43 record. They were swept by the Cleveland Cavaliers [3] in the first round of the playoffs a year after reaching the Eastern Conference Finals against the Boston Celtics [4].

The Minnesota Timberwolves [5] are also still looking for a new head coach after firing Kevin McHale [6]. Don’t be surprised to hear Celtics assistant coach Tom Thibodeau’s name mentioned as a possible candidate for the two vacancies. He previously interviewed with the Philadelphia 76ers [7] and Sacramento Kings [8] this offseason.

On Monday Celtics GM Danny Ainge said, “I have not heard from Minnesota. I had called them earlier, and they had told me that they are starting their coaching search after the draft.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/06/30/another-head-coaching-vacancy-opens/

URLs in this post:

[1] Detroit Pistons: http://media.weei.com/basketball/detroit-pistons.htm

[2] Michael Curry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/michael-curry.htm

[3] Cleveland Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[4] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[5] Minnesota Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[6] Kevin McHale: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-mchale.htm

[7] Philadelphia 76ers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/philadelphia-76ers.htm

[8] Sacramento Kings: http://media.weei.com/basketball/sacramento-kings.htm

[9] > Another head coaching vacancy opens" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/06/30/another-head-coaching-vacancy-opens/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.