- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Mark Your Calendars: Celtics Games to Watch

Posted By Jessica Camerato On August 4, 2009 @ 11:34 pm In General | 3 Comments

The Boston Celtics [1] released their schedule for the 2009-2010 season and there are 82 nights to circle on your calendar. Take a look at these must-watch games:

Tuesday, October 27: Celtics @ Cavaliers [2]
Celtics open their season on the road against LeBron James [3] and Shaquille O’Neal [4]. It will be the first time the Cs play in Cleveland since last season’s heated Easter Sunday game [5] which resulted in a Ray Allen [6] suspension.

Wednesday, October 28: Celtics vs. Bobcats
Fans will get their first look at Rasheed Wallace [7] in the Celtics home opener against the Bobcats, the Cs D-League affiliate for the Portland Red Claws. Will the Celtics need last-second heroics [8] to take care of the ‘Cats again?

Friday, October 30: Celtics vs. Bulls
The Bulls became very familiar with the Garden after making four trips there during last season’s first-round series. After an entire summer to improve, watch out for an even better battle between Rajon Rondo and Derrick Rose [9].

Friday, November 20: Celtics vs. Magic
The Magic come to Boston looking to build upon their postseason success against the Celtics [10]. This time Dwight Howard [11] and Rashard Lewis are bringing Vince Carter [12] along for the ride.

Thursday, December 3: Celtics @ Spurs
It was a dreaded destination for years. The Celtics have turned their luck around but the Spurs have revamped their roster [13] to challenge them yet again in San Antonio.

Sunday, December 20: Celtics vs. Timberwolves [14]
The returns of Al Jefferson and Ryan Gomes [15] always garner standing ovations from the crowd. Will touted Spanish guard Ricky Rubio [16] be in their backcourt?

Friday, December 25: Celtics @ Magic
Celtics will spend Christmas in the sun against the Magic in Florida.

Sunday, December 27: Celtics @ Clippers
Get a first look at the top overall pick in this year’s draft, Blake Griffin [17]. After an impressive Summer League performance [18], this rookie looks poised to make an impact in the league.

Wednesday, January 20: Celtics @ Pistons
Sheed returns to Detroit  to sit on the visitors side for the first time in over five years. A must-watch for Huskies fans as Ray Allen takes on fellow UConn alumni [19] Rip Hamilton, Ben Gordon [20], and Charlie Villanueva [21].

Sunday, January 31: Celtics vs. Lakers
As if Kobe Bryant [22] weren’t enough, this time he’s got Ron Artest [23] with him. Let the battle begin [24].

February 18: Celtics @ Lakers
The championship contenders take the match up to LA in the middle of the Celtics five-game West Coast road trip.

Wednesday, March 17: Celtics vs. Knicks
The Celtics will play in Boston on St. Patrick’s Day for the first time in years. The Knicks already have their own holiday uniforms, so expect a sea of green.

Sunday, April 4: Celtics vs. Cavaliers
The Cavaliers second trip to Boston will mean that much more late in the season when one game can determine postseason standings.

Wednesday, April 14: Celtics vs. Bucks
The last game of the regular season is always a special tribute to the fans as the Cs prepare for the playoffs.

Check out the entire Celtics regular season schedule here [25].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/08/04/mark-your-calendars-celtics-games-to-watch/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[3] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[4] Shaquille O’Neal: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shaquille-oneal.htm

[5] heated Easter Sunday game: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lyZowxARDCA

[6] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[7] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[8] last-second heroics: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MI1x0V6iHiU

[9] Rajon Rondo and Derrick Rose: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pYehwzLetOU

[10] postseason success against the Celtics: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0q-xMDPhDBI

[11] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[12] Vince Carter: http://media.weei.com/basketball/vince-carter.htm

[13] revamped their roster: http://www.nba.com/spurs/roster/

[14] Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[15] Al Jefferson and Ryan Gomes: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/07/13/role-reversal-for-gomes/

[16] Ricky Rubio: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ricky-rubio.htm

[17] Blake Griffin: http://media.weei.com/basketball/blake-griffin.htm

[18] impressive Summer League performance: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yYYVTq6Jkx0

[19] Ray Allen takes on fellow UConn alumni: http://www.weei.com/sports/boston/celtics/jessica-camerato/allen-gets-last-laugh-fellow-husky

[20] Ben Gordon: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ben-gordon.htm

[21] Charlie Villanueva: http://media.weei.com/basketball/charlie-villanueva.htm

[22] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[23] Ron Artest: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ron-artest.htm

[24] Let the battle begin: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yufSJYOtvwQ

[25] here: http://www.nba.com/celtics/schedule/

[26] > Mark Your Calendars: Celtics Games to Watch" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/08/04/mark-your-calendars-celtics-games-to-watch/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[27]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.