- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics spend their summer in the community

Posted By Jessica Camerato On August 24, 2009 @ 11:35 pm In General | 4 Comments

This summer the Celtics organization has spent countless hours improving its team for the upcoming NBA season. Meanwhile many of its players have dedicated their time to improving the Boston community.

Last week Bill Walker [1] spent the afternoon at the Reebok Youth Basketball Camp, held at Basketball City in Boston, to talk about the importance of hard work on and off the court. Walker served as spokesperson for the six-week camp, which was also held at the Celtics training facility in Waltham and their 2008 training camp facility at Salve Regina University.

This month Eddie House [2] and Celtics legend Cedric Maxwell [3] dedicated a renovated basketball court to the Carter family of Waltham, winners of the RE/MAX of New England Home Court Program contest. The family also received a Celtics-themed bedroom makeover. House and Maxwell conducted a free basketball clinic for 100 children at the Waltham Boys & Girls Club following the dedication.

Walker, Lester Hudson [4], and J.R. Giddens teamed up [5] with a group of 20 volunteers to help 400 families in need at the Feed the Children Event in Mattapan earlier this month. Together they handed out $45,000 worth of non-perishable food items and personal items at the Mildred Avenue School and Community Center. Walker and Hudson also signed autographs and took photos with the families.

Brian Scalabrine [6] and Walker toured Washington D.C. [7] in June with a group of students from the Harbor Middle School in Dorchester, winners of the tenth annual ASSISTS Community Service Contest. Contest creators Southwest Airlines and the Celtics flew the students for the field trip, where they toured other monuments and attractions in the Baltimore/Washington D.C. area.

(Photos courtesy of the Boston Celtics [8])


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/08/24/celtics-spend-their-summer-in-the-community/

URLs in this post:

[1] Bill Walker: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-walker.htm

[2] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[3] Cedric Maxwell: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cedric-maxwell.htm

[4] Lester Hudson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lester-hudson.htm

[5] teamed up: http://bit.ly/136i9q

[6] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[7] toured Washington D.C.: http://bit.ly/11vqmA

[8] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[9] > Celtics spend their summer in the community" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/08/24/celtics-spend-their-summer-in-the-community/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.