- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc: I’m not going to overdo it

Posted By Mike Petraglia On September 28, 2009 @ 8:50 pm In General | 2 Comments

WALTHAM – Before leaving for Newport, R.I. and a week of getting his team in the right frame of mind to actually put some letters and numbers on the blank banner hanging in the corner of the practice facility, Celtics [1] coach Doc Rivers [2] let the media in on a little secret.

“I think camp is important this year but obviously with Kevin coming back, [joining] Rasheed, Paul, Ray, they’re not spring chickens,” Rivers said. “Perk’s [left] shoulder, Tony’s [right] foot, we’re going to go as hard as we need to but I’m not going to overdo it.”

So, the Celtics all got together on Monday and left for Salve Regina University after meeting their media commitments. Kevin Garnett [3] and his right knee, Rasheed Wallace [4] and his new uniform, Paul Pierce [5], Ray Allen [6], Tony Allen [7] and his right foot and Kendrick Perkins [8] and his left shoulder joined the rest of their teammates to prepare for a run at getting back on top of the NBA world.

But Rivers was clear about one thing – the NBA Finals [9] are played in June and the playoffs begin in April, something that was reinforced in his mind toward the end of last year.

“Listen, we’re going to try and build through the year,” Rivers said. “I’m not going to try and get everything in in camp. I can tell you right now that we’re going to be behind coming out of camp than where we were last year. I’m more concerned with just preserving. I’m not that concerned about it but that’s the way we’re going to do it.”

As for the new faces like Rasheed Wallace, Marquise Daniels and Shelden Williams [10] all fitting in, Rivers said he’ll manage just fine.

“Bottom line is this, everybody is here for one purpose and that’s to win and when you’re together in that way, I don’t think egos are much of a problem,” Rivers said. “If you’re not together in that way, then egos become a problem. If egos become a problem on this team, then we’re not thinking in the right way and that’s the way I look at it.”

And don’t ask about windows of opportunity with this team. There’s only one window the Celtics are trying to keep open in the house.

“I’m just worried about the 2010 window right now,” Rivers said. “Our goal is to win it this year, that’s it. I don’t look at windows with this team. Obviously, this team won’t be the same in 2012 and 2013. I think we’re all smart enough to understand that.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/09/28/doc-im-not-going-to-overdo-it/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[7] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[8] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[9] NBA Finals: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nba-finals.htm

[10] Shelden Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shelden-williams.htm

[11] > Doc: I’m not going to overdo it" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/09/28/doc-im-not-going-to-overdo-it/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.