- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

NBA GMs Pick Celtics as Best Defensive Team

Posted By Jessica Camerato On October 7, 2009 @ 11:29 am In General | No Comments

A survey of NBA General Managers [1] on NBA.com revealed the more than 60 percent of the execs believe the Los Angeles Lakers [2] will win it all again this season. That doesn’t mean, though, the Boston Celtics [3] were not recognized.

The Cs were predicted to win the Eastern Conference [1], earning 50 percent of the votes. They also received 100 percent of votes to win the Atlantic Division.

Which team will win the Eastern Conference?
Boston Celtics     50.0%
Cleveland Cavaliers [4]     42.9%
Orlando Magic [5]     7.1%

Over 60 percent of GMs selected the Celtics as the best defensive team [6] in the 2009-10 season. Kevin Garnett [7] and Rajon Rondo [8] each received votes for individual defensive categories. Rondo tied Kobe Bryant [9] with the most votes for best ball-on-ball defender.

Best defensive team:
Boston     60.7%
San Antonio     32.1%
L.A. Lakers     7.1%

Best defensive player:
Dwight Howard [10], Orlando     46.4%
Kevin Garnett, Boston     17.9%
Ron Artest [11], L.A. Lakers 17.9%

Best on-the-ball defender:
Rajon Rondo, Boston     25.0%
Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers     25.0%
Ron Artest, L.A. Lakers     17.9%

Best interior defender:
Dwight Howard, Orlando     64.3%
Kevin Garnett, Boston     32.1%

Best perimeter defender:
Kobe Bryant, L.A. Lakers     34.5%
Shane Battier [12], Houston     24.1%
Ron Artest, L.A. Lakers     20.7%
Rajon Rondo, Boston     6.9%

On an individual basis [13], Garnett received the second-most votes (20.7%) for best power forward behind Tim Duncan [14]. Ray Allen [15] also received votes for best shooting guard.

Click here [1] for complete results on NBA.com. General Managers were not allowed to vote for their own team.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/10/07/nba-gms-pick-celtics-as-best-defensive-tea/

URLs in this post:

[1] survey of NBA General Managers: http://www.nba.com/news/features/gmsurvey.predictions/index.html

[2] Los Angeles Lakers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-lakers.htm

[3] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Cleveland Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[5] Orlando Magic: http://media.weei.com/basketball/orlando-magic.htm

[6] best defensive team: http://www.nba.com/news/features/gmsurvey.defense/index.html

[7] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[8] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[9] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[10] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[11] Ron Artest: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ron-artest.htm

[12] Shane Battier: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shane-battier.htm

[13] individual basis: http://www.nba.com/news/features/gmsurvey.players/index.html

[14] Tim Duncan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tim-duncan.htm

[15] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[16] > NBA GMs Pick Celtics as Best Defensive Team" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/10/07/nba-gms-pick-celtics-as-best-defensive-tea/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[17]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.