- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast break: Celtics-Bobcats

Posted By Paul Flannery On October 28, 2009 @ 10:06 pm In General | No Comments

If the Celtics [1] opening night win over the Cavs was about their bench, Wednesday night’s 92-59 win [2] over the Bobcats was all about the starting five. The unit that many feel is the best starting five in the league dominated the Bobcats early, regained control of the game in the second quarter and then blew their doors off to start the second half with a 15-0 run.

Every Celtic starter scored in double figures except for Kendrick Perkins [3] who finished with nine points (and seven rebounds). Ray Allen [4] led the way with 18 points and Paul Pierce [5] had 15 including a thunderous tomahawk dunk that put an aesthetic cap on the C’s third quarter run.

Player of the game: Rajon Rondo [6]. The young point guard is staring at a big week, and not just because the deadline to sign an extension is Saturday. With the Cavs and Bobcats in his rear view mirror Rondo gets his first shot at Derrick Rose [7] and the Bulls since their epic playoff series when the two teams meet Friday. On Sunday, Rondo gets the reigning King of the Point Guards in New Orleans’ Chris Paul [8].

“Rondo has established himself as a guy that other players are going to get up for,” Doc Rivers [9] said prior to the start of the game. “When you reach a level like Paul Pierce, there are no off nights because they’re going to try to make their name off you now.”

Rondo was brilliant against Charlotte with 10 points on 5-for-6 shooting and 11 assists (against only one turnover) as he outplayed both Ray Felton and DJ Augustin [10]. Felton left the game in the second quarter after he hit the floor and had 15 stitches inserted into, and around, his mouth.

Turning point: With about seven minutes left in the second quarter the Bobcats had cut the Celtics lead to four points, 29-25. That’s when Doc Rivers put his starters back on the court. While the offense was still sluggish, the starting five held Charlotte to just six points the rest of that half and went into the locker room with a 42-31 lead.

The Celtics opened things up in the second half, but that stretch set the defensive tone.

* Rasheed Wallace [11] is quickly on his way to becoming a folk hero. He received a loud ovation when he was introduced prior to the game and the cheers grew even more raucous when he knocked down a pair of 3-pointers in the first quarter. What really brought the house down? Sheed’s karaoke version of “Total Eclipse of the Heart” by Bonnie Tyler. All that and he’s got pipes.

* Rivers said he wasn’t overly concerned with managing minutes despite the team playing the second half of a back-to-back and a third game in four days looming with Chicago Friday. He was as good as his word as Ray Allen played almost the entire first half (mainly because of foul trouble for Paul Pierce and Marquis Daniels [12]). Kevin Garnett [13] also logged 18 minutes in the first half. It’s a situation that will be watched closely without Glen Davis [14].

* Speaking of Garnett, he took hard fall diving for a loose ball with about four minutes left in the third quarter. He appeared to be moving gingerly and Rivers quickly replaced him with Shelden Williams [15]. By the time he got to the bench Garnett seemed to be fine, and while he didn’t return to the game he seemed to be in good spirits.

* Things got chippy in the third quarter between Perkins and Charlotte’s Tyson Chandler [16] and Gerald Wallace [17]. All three received technical fouls. You may remember Augustin saying last season that other teams weren’t intimidated by the Celtics anymore.

* Quote of the night came before the game when Pierce addressed the crowd following the introductions. “You see up there?” Pierce said gesturing toward the rafters. “There’s only 17 (banners) up there. We need another one.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/10/28/fast-break-celtics-bobcats/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Wednesday night’s 92-59 win: http://weei.stats.com/nba/boxscore.asp?gamecode=2009102802&home=2&vis=30

[3] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[7] Derrick Rose: http://media.weei.com/basketball/derrick-rose.htm

[8] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[9] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[10] DJ Augustin: http://media.weei.com/basketball/d.j.-augustin.htm

[11] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[12] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[13] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[14] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[15] Shelden Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shelden-williams.htm

[16] Tyson Chandler: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tyson-chandler.htm

[17] Gerald Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/gerald-wallace.htm

[18] > Fast break: Celtics-Bobcats" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/10/28/fast-break-celtics-bobcats/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[19]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.