- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics generous in win over Jazz

Posted By Jessica Camerato On November 11, 2009 @ 11:00 pm In General | No Comments

There is a reason why the Celtics [1] entered Wednesday’s game leading the league in assists. It isn’t only because of Rajon Rondo [2] — point guards Steve Nash [3], Chris Paul [4], and Deron Williams are all ahead of him in dimes per game. It’s because the Celtics as a team look to pass, and that ball movement and selflessness were determining factors in their win over the Jazz [5].

‘€œDoc [Rivers [6]] and Coach [Armond] Hill were just saying move the ball,’€ Rondo said after the Celtics 105-86 victory [7]. ‘€œIt started in practice. We kept getting each other involved and we made plays for each other.’€

The Celtics dished out 30 assists to the Jazz 18. Rondo accounted for 11, which totals more than Jazz starting guard Deron Williams and Ronnie Brewer combined.

They looked for not just one or two extra passes on Wednesday. One of the most significant possessions of the game involved four in the third quarter — Rondo to Ray Allen [8], Allen to Kendrick Perkins [9], Perkins behind the back to Kevin Garnett [10], Garnett back to Rondo for the lay in.

That sequence was memorable to many, but Rondo is so accustomed to sharing the ball that it was just another trip down the floor for him.

‘€œI don’t even remember the play,’€ he said. ‘€œI think it was like five passes maybe, but I don’t remember how I got there.’€

If the Celtics continue to see each other on the court like they did against the Jazz, they will remember how they ended up in the win column throughout the season.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/11/11/celtics-generous-in-win-over-jazz/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[3] Steve Nash: http://media.weei.com/basketball/steve-nash.htm

[4] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[5] Jazz: http://media.weei.com/basketball/utah-jazz.htm

[6] Doc [Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[7] Celtics 105-86 victory: http://weei.stats.com/nba/teamstats.asp?teamno=02&type=teamhome

[8] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[9] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[10] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[11] > Celtics generous in win over Jazz" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/11/11/celtics-generous-in-win-over-jazz/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.