- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Magic: Can’t Afford to Foul Rondo

Posted By Jessica Camerato On November 20, 2009 @ 7:46 pm In General | No Comments

BOSTON — Even though Rajon Rondo [1] enters Friday’s game shooting a mere 25 percent from the free throw line, the Magic are not going to give him extra trips to the charity stripe. Just because free throws have been a weakness for Rondo this season that doesn’t mean the same is true for his teammates.

‘€œWith their team you don’t want to foul unnecessarily,’€ said Anthony Johnson. ‘€œEven though maybe he’s not shooting well, Paul Pierce [2], KG, all the other guys, they’re going to draw fouls.’€

In spite of Rondo’s struggle (4-16 FG), the Celtics [3] are still in the middle of the pack around the league. Ray Allen [4] is ranked eighth in the NBA (89.3%) while Shelden Williams [5] and Pierce are both shooting better than 80 percent.

‘€œIf you waste your fouls on Rondo, it’s going to help them as a team get into the bonus and it’s going to give those guys free points,’€ Johnson said. ‘€œSo as much as possible we want to keep them off the line, including him, and try to make them make tough shots over the top of us.’€

The Magic have a lot more to worry about with Rondo than just free throws. They are without starting point guard Jameer Nelson (knee) and will depend on veterans  Johnson and Jason Williams [6] to contain Rondo.

“He’s a guy that plays with a lot of energy offensively and defensively so you’ve got to always keep him in front of you, don’t allow him to really dictate the tempo with his ball pressure and just putting pressure on our defense getting into the paint,” said Johnson. “So we’re going to have to keep him in front of us and not let him orchestrate and make all the big plays.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/11/20/magic-cant-afford-to-foul-rondo/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[2] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] Shelden Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shelden-williams.htm

[6] Jason Williams: http://media.weei.com/football/jason-williams.htm

[7] > Magic: Can’t Afford to Foul Rondo" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/11/20/magic-cant-afford-to-foul-rondo/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.