- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Magic know formula to beat Celtics

Posted By Jessica Camerato On November 21, 2009 @ 12:05 am In General | No Comments

BOSTON ‘€“ It has been nearly a year since the Magic faced a healthy Celtics squad. On Friday they proved they can beat the Celtics with or without Kevin Garnett [1].

‘€œIt’s very important especially when they are full strength to show you that we’re still a good team,’€ Rashard Lewis told WEEI.com after the Magic’s 83-78 victory (Recap [2]). ‘€œYou know they’re a great team. This is only one game, it’s early in the season and I definitely would not count them out at all. Every time we play the Boston Celtics [3] it’s going to be a tough, tough game.’€

The Celtics were 0-2 last regular season against the Magic without Garnett and were eliminated from the Eastern Conference Semifinals by the Magic without him. But the truth is, the Magic have held their own against the Celtics in recent years. They improved to 5-3 against the Cs since the 2007-08 regular season.

‘€œI think the biggest thing playing their team is not allowing them to get a lot of second chance points, hold them to one shot, and then run,’€ said Dwight Howard [4].

The Celtics actually outshot the Magic 87-to-70 from the floor, but the Magic shot 10-for-22 from three-point range while Celtics were a mere 2-for-19. Vince Carter [5] attempted 29 field goals — ‘€œAll of them weren’t open, I’ll be the first to tell you that,’€ he said with a laugh — the same number as Ray Allen [6] and Paul Pierce [7] combined. Stifling the Celtics offense was a must-do for the Magic.

‘€œYou’ve got to play defense,’€ said Lewis. ‘€œI think every time we play this team we really buckle down on the defensive end and we try to take their main guys out ‘€“ Ray Allen at the three-point line, and we try to crowd Paul Pierce and make other guys beat us. Tonight I think we did a good job of that.’€

The Celtics lost their lead just three minutes into the first quarter, and the Magic held off a 17-12 fourth quarter run after Rasheed Wallace [8] tied the game at 78 apiece. Lewis said his team regained their composure after coach Stan Van Gundy [9] called a timeout and buckled down, realizing how easily the Celtics can fight back from a double-digit deficit. The Magic diminished the Celtics homecourt advantage and held on in the TD Garden’s playoff atmosphere.

‘€œWe’re not going to do that [back down] to anybody,’€ said Jason Williams [10]. ‘€œI mean, we feel that we’re just as good as anybody else. So if we come out and do what we’re supposed to do, we’re going to win more times than not.’€

On Friday night, like they have so many times in recent games against the Celtics, the Magic came out on top. Neither team can read too much into this victory, though. While the Magic know how to beat the Celtics, but they also know either team is capable of winning at any time.

‘€œI don’t want to say we got their number because anything can happen on any given night,’€ said Lewis. ‘€œTonight the ball kind of bounced our way and towards the end of the game we were able to get away. It’s not like we blew them out. We won by like four points so it could have easily gone the other way.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/11/21/magic-know-formula-to-beat-celtics/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[2] Recap: http://weei.stats.com/nba/teamstats.asp?teamno=02&type=teamhome

[3] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[5] Vince Carter: http://media.weei.com/basketball/vince-carter.htm

[6] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[7] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[8] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[9] Stan Van Gundy: http://media.weei.com/basketball/stan-van-gundy.htm

[10] Jason Williams: http://media.weei.com/football/jason-williams.htm

[11] > Magic know formula to beat Celtics" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/11/21/magic-know-formula-to-beat-celtics/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.