- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc: Pierce is our MVP

Posted By Paul Flannery On November 25, 2009 @ 11:32 pm In General | No Comments

After yet another brilliant outing from Paul Pierce [1] –27 points, five rebounds, six assists and one gut-wrenching charge — Celtics [2] coach Doc Rivers [3] didn’t hold back in his praise.

“He’s been MVP to me,” Rivers said. “Now only with his play, but all over. He was on guys in the second quarter and then at halftime about our play. He’s doing everything you ask him to do. He’s guarding guys, he’s rebounding, he’s making big shots, he’s taking charges. I mean, I don’t know what else. He can cook Thanksgiving dinner for someone and then he’ll be doing it all. He’s been terrific.”

With the Celtics up by two points and less than a minute to play, Philadelphia’s Andre Iguodala [4] got up a full head of steam and went straight to the basket. Iguodala is listed at 207 pounds, but at least 200 of that is muscle. Pierce stepped into the lane and took the contact.

“Well you know, it’s what we talk about,” Pierce said. “If the charge is there the coach wants us to step up and take the charge. That’s pretty much the only thing I could have done in that situation.”

Later in the game with the Celtics holding a three-point lead, Pierce and Rajon Rondo [5] both executed the Celtics strategy to foul with less than 10 seconds remaining and not give the opponent a chance to tie the game.

“That’€™s something we talk about,” Pierce said. “That’€™s something we work on in practice. We were in that situation last year against the Bulls [in the playoffs] and Ben Gordon [6] made a 3 and we should have fouled. That’€™s our strategy if it’€™s under 10 seconds that’€™s our strategy to foul.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/11/25/doc-pierce-is-our-mvp/

URLs in this post:

[1] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[4] Andre Iguodala: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andre-iguodala.htm

[5] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[6] Ben Gordon: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ben-gordon.htm

[7] > Doc: Pierce is our MVP" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/11/25/doc-pierce-is-our-mvp/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.