- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics vs. Timberwolves

Posted By Jessica Camerato On December 20, 2009 @ 8:32 pm In General | No Comments

BOSTON – Their first meeting was close, but that would not be the case on Sunday. The Celtics [1] reached a season-high in scoring and easily defeated the T’Wolves, 122-104, at the Garden.

Turning Point: In a moment that is sure to appear on SportsCenter, Eddie House [2] stole the ball, passed it behind his back as he stumbled out of bounds near the scorer’s table and dished it to Tony Allen [3] for a dunk over Corey Brewer [4]. That second-quarter play proved the entire Celtics squad ‘€“ not just their starting five ‘€“ was going to cause problems for the Timberwolves [5].

Player of the Game: Paul Pierce [6] hit six 3s (tying a team season-high) and led all players with 29 points. He shot a perfect three-for-three from long range in the second quarter alone. Pierce also chipped in seven rebounds and four assists.

- Tony Allen also had an impressive night ‘€“ 15 points (5-8 FG, 5-7 FT), six rebounds, three assists. This was Allen’s second consecutive double-digit performance.

- The Celtics scored a season-high 34 points in the first quarter. (The previous high was 31 against the Thunder on December 4.) The Celtics held the Timberwolves to 28 percent shooting in the first quarter (7-25 FG). Just four Minnesota players scored in the first 12 minutes compared to seven on the C’s.

- Kendrick Perkins [7] was whistled for a technical in the third quarter. He did not get to the free throw line the entire night.

- The Celtics improved to 4-0 when scoring more than 30 points in the first quarter. They are also 4-0 on Sundays.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/12/20/fast-break-celtics-vs-timberwolves/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[3] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[4] Corey Brewer: http://media.weei.com/basketball/corey-brewer.htm

[5] Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[6] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[7] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[8] > Fast Break: Celtics vs. Timberwolves" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/12/20/fast-break-celtics-vs-timberwolves/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.