- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics vs. Pacers

Posted By Jessica Camerato On December 22, 2009 @ 10:04 pm In General | No Comments

BOSTON ‘€“ It was one of the ugliest first half performances the Celtics [1] have displayed in a while. But as they have done so many times, they owned the third quarter to fight back for a 103-94 win over the Pacers on Tuesday night at the Garden.

Turning Point: After being outscored by 15 in the first half, Celtics went on a 31-14 run to take a 73-71 lead off a Rasheed Wallace [2] fastbreak dunk. Kendrick Perkins [3] dropped 13 points in the third quarter alone while Ray Allen [4] added 11 in 12 minutes. The Celtics outscored the Pacers 35-20 in the quarter to get back in the game.

Player of the Game: This win was a combined effort throughout the second half. After Perkins and Allen scored 13 and 11 points in the third, respectively, it was Paul Pierce [5] who got hot late in the game. He scored 14 points in the fourth quarter to finish the night with 21.

Kevin Garnett [6] did not play (bruised right thigh) and did not join the Celtics on the bench. According to team sources, the decision was Doc Rivers [7]‘, not Garnett’s. Rasheed Wallace got his first start of the season in place of Garnett.

– The Celtics gave up 57 points in the first half, tying the season-high set by the Suns on November 6. This is the eighth time this season the Celtics have allowed more than 50 points in the first half.

– Perkins was whistled for his 8th technical of the season. He moved ahead of Carmelo Anthony to rank second in the league, behind only Wallace.

– Pierce shot 6-for-6 from three-point range on Sunday. He started Tuesday’s game 0-for-6 from the field.

– Wallace banged his right shoulder in the second half but did return to the game.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/12/22/fast-break-celtics-vs-pacers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[3] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[7] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[8] > Fast Break: Celtics vs. Pacers" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/12/22/fast-break-celtics-vs-pacers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.