- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics-Warriors

Posted By Paul Flannery On December 29, 2009 @ 1:18 am In General | 3 Comments

Playing the Warriors can sometimes be as much an exercise in restraint as anything else. There are so many open shots and available fast break opportunities that it can be incredibly enticing to settle for the first good thing that presents itself. The Celtics [1], who play such a tightly controlled form of basketball, were easy marks most of the night, especially after dominating the first quarter.

In retrospect, the first 12 minutes may have been the Celtics’ undoing in a 103-99 loss. (Recap [2].) Playing one of their best quarters of the season, the Celtics destroyed Golden State and took a 35-22 lead. But while those easy looks remained there all night, the Celtics never settled down and played their game, with 24 turnovers one of the results.

Instead, they played way too fast and way too much like the Warriors wanted them to play at right around 100 possessions. The Celtics average a tick over 91.This is the second time they have succumbed to the temptations of playing run and gun. The Phoenix Suns [3] performed a similar helter-skelter number on the Celtics earlier in the season, although that game was played at a pedestrian pace compared to Monday night’s sprint.

Player of the Game: Rajon Rondo [4]. It’s getting repetitive, but Rondo is the engine and the catalyst that makes the Celtics offense go. The Warriors went with various modifications of the “leave Rondo alone in the halfcourt” defense. Taking a page from the Knicks playbook (via Jared Jeffries [5]), they sometimes utilized 6-foot-10 Anthony Randolph playing way off Rondo and inviting him to shoot. Most of the time, Monta Ellis [6] just sagged off him and hung back in the paint. The result was a 30-point, 15-assist effort for Rondo, who will continue to see gimmick defenses the rest of the season. Better that he sees them now.

Turning Point: In the second quarter, C.J. Watson had six steals and seemed to live in the Celtics passing lanes. He, along with Ronny Turiaf, completely changed the momentum and helped the Warriors get back in the game.

* This was a night when the Celtics dearly missed Paul Pierce [7]. As much as Rondo controls the offense, Pierce acts as the calming influence. Halfcourt calm was in short supply against Golden State.

* In a game that featured a lot of physical play, and some uneven whistles, Glen Davis [8] got hammered going up for a shot and appeared to be in pain when he came off the floor in the fourth quarter. The initial diagnosis was a sprained ankle and he did not return. His comeback was put on an accelerated timetable for this trip and it remains to be seen if he was actually physically ready to return to the court.

* Doc Rivers [9] played a limited rotation and Ray Allen [10] logged 44 minutes. That’s entirely too many, but with the Warriors’ small lineups, it did make sense. Allen’s increased minutes are yet another function of Pierce’s injury.

* Give the Warriors credit for executing correctly in the final seconds. With a three-point lead and five seconds remaining, Golden State intentionally fouled Allen rather then let him attempt a 3-pointer. It remains a mystery why more teams don’t do that automatically.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/12/29/fast-break-celtics-warriors-2/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Recap: http://weei.stats.com/nba/recap.asp?g=2009122809

[3] Phoenix Suns: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phoenix-suns.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Jared Jeffries: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jared-jeffries.htm

[6] Monta Ellis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/monta-ellis.htm

[7] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[8] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[9] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[10] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[11] > Fast Break: Celtics-Warriors" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/12/29/fast-break-celtics-warriors-2/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.