- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics-Suns

Posted By Paul Flannery On December 30, 2009 @ 11:28 pm In General | 1 Comment

The losing streak is now three games, and while there were extenuating circumstances, this was the worst of the three. Yes the injuries are piling up and yes, the trip was long and tiring, but the Celtics [1] had less pop than day-old champagne and provided decidedly less buzz. The Celtics clearly have bigger issues than one game, and in truth it wasn’t much of a surprise that the Phoenix Suns [2] were able to blow them off the court Wednesday night, 116-98.

The big news came before tip-off as Kevin Garnett [3] and Glen Davis [4] (again) joined Paul Pierce [5] and Marquis Daniels [6] on the injured list, and it looks like it will be a little while before Garnett returns. The Celtics are saying that Garnett suffered a hyper-extended knee when he got kicked against the Warriors, which they are saying is different than the thigh bruise that kept him out last week and different than the knee injury that kept him out of the playoffs.

With more than a week between now and a Jan. 6 game at Miami and only one more game in between against the Raptors on Saturday, this seems like an ideal time to give Garnett some rest. That’s how the Celtics are playing it, but there will certainly be questions about Garnett’s injuries, which coincidentally or not, have all affected the same leg.

Despite all that the Celtics did come out with the best of intentions. They went into the post repeatedly in the first quarter in an effort to play from the inside out and they took the ball hard to the basket and lived at the free throw line for most of the second quarter. Those good intentions couldn’t mask a lack of players, energy or hustle, however.

Player of the Game: Amar’e Stoudemire. The Suns forward dominated the Celtics in the first quarter, making nine of 10 shots and scoring at will. He was far too quick for Kendrick Perkins [7], which is just one place the Celtics missed Garnett. If not for persistent foul trouble, Stoudemire might have gone for 40 points. Instead he settled for 26 and seven rebounds.

Turning Point: Unlike most Phoenix runs, the Suns decisive move didn’t happen quickly. But it did happen early. Lasting 1o possessions and carrying on through a timeout, they turned a 12-8 deficit into a 26-14 lead. From that point on, the Celtics were in deep trouble.

* Those waiting for the kids, i.e. Bill Walker [8], J.R. Giddens and Lester Hudson [9] to get some run will have to continue the vigil. If ever there was a night for them to play it was Wednesday. Instead all three were idle until the fourth quarter when the game was well in Phoenix’s grasp.

* This could have been a night for Rasheed Wallace [10] to pick up some of the slack, but he struggled against the quicker Suns. He failed to take advantage of what should have been a mismatch against Channing Frye [11] and played just 29 minutes. Wallace was 3-for-11 and 0-for-4 from 3-point range.

* Rajon Rondo [12] played despite his sore hamstring and seemed to lack his usual burst to the hoop. Even playing the defensively-challenged Steve Nash [13], Rondo rarely took it to the rim and was content to settle himself about 20 feet from the basket most of the night. In 31 minutes Rondo scored 13 points and recorded eight assists, which were solid enough numbers but it was clear that Rondo wasn’t at his best.

* Perkins picked up his 10th technical foul, which ties him with Wallace for most in the NBA. He would be subject to a one-game suspension if his count reaches 16 techs.

* The Celtics were able to stay in the game for a time with a small-ball lineup of Rondo, Eddie House [14], Ray Allen [15] and Brian Scalabrine [16] along with Wallace and Perkins. But every time they inched closer the Suns shot them right back out of the game.

* Shelden Williams [17] had 14 points and five rebounds, which was his most productive outing in weeks.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/12/30/fast-break-celtics-suns-2/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Phoenix Suns: http://media.weei.com/basketball/phoenix-suns.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[7] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[8] Bill Walker: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-walker.htm

[9] Lester Hudson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lester-hudson.htm

[10] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[11] Channing Frye: http://media.weei.com/basketball/channing-frye.htm

[12] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[13] Steve Nash: http://media.weei.com/basketball/steve-nash.htm

[14] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[15] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[16] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[17] Shelden Williams: http://media.weei.com/basketball/shelden-williams.htm

[18] > Fast Break: Celtics-Suns" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2009/12/30/fast-break-celtics-suns-2/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[19]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.