- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics vs. Heat

Posted By Jessica Camerato On January 6, 2010 @ 10:50 pm In General | 1 Comment

The Celtics [1] overcame a double-digit deficit in the fourth quarter to beat the Heat, 112-106, in dramatic fashion on the road in overtime. This game wasn’t pretty — the Celtics committed 24 turnovers while the Heat attempted 98 shots — but the C’s fended off 44 points from Dwayne Wade to get the win.

Player of the Game: Kudos to Paul Pierce [2] for perfectly executing the game-tying alley-oop to Rajon Rondo [3], but this award goes to the recipient of the pass. Not only did Rondo send the Celtics into overtime, he led them in the final five minutes. Rondo finished with a team-high 25 points.

Turning Point: After Wade hit a pair of game-tying free throws, the Celtics had an opportunity to hit the game-winner with 5.5 seconds left. Wade stole the ball from Ray Allen [4] at halfcourt and slammed the go-ahead bucket to put the Heat up, 101-99, with 0.6 seconds to go. The Celtics responded with one of the best plays of the season ‘€“ an inbound alley-oop from Pierce to Rondo as time expired to force overtime.

– Pierce posted 17 points, 6 rebounds, and 5 assists in his return from a knee infection.

– The Celtics committed 24 turnovers to just 11 by the Heat.

– Free throws were a huge deciding factor in this game. The Celtics shot 33-for-41; the Heat shot 20-for-27.

Rasheed Wallace [5] played a stretch in the fourth quarter with five fouls. He eventually fouled out fighting for a rebounds with Udonis Haslem [6], and the Celtics bench quickly stepped in front of him on the sidelines to prevent him from arguing the call.

– After getting his first NBA start last weekend, J.R. Giddens did not play on Wednesday.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/01/06/fast-break-celtics-vs-heat-2/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[6] Udonis Haslem: http://media.weei.com/basketball/udonis-haslem.htm

[7] > Fast Break: Celtics vs. Heat" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/01/06/fast-break-celtics-vs-heat-2/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.