- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics stay loose at practice

Posted By Jessica Camerato On January 16, 2010 @ 2:32 pm In General | 1 Comment

WALTHAM — After losing to the Bulls on Thursday night, the Celtics [1] stayed loose during Saturday’s open practice. The uplifting mood was good for the team.

“After losses, sometimes guys can be mad at each other a little bit,” said Kendrick Perkins [2]. “Sometimes we need a little laughter in the gym, stuff like that. I think that helped us.”

First some news before the notes …

- Rasheed Wallace [3] (sore left foot)  is expected to play on Monday against the Mavericks. “Definitely, I’m going to go Monday,” he said after practice. “I’ve got one more [practice] to get under my belt. I’ll be fine.” Doc Rivers [4] said the team will make a final decision after observing Wallace in practice on Sunday. Wallace, who has missed the last three games, is eager to shake the injury that has been bothering him for some time. “It happened a while ago,” he said. “I’ve been playing on it for two weeks. The last few minutes in the Toronto game last week, that sort of did it.”

- J.R Giddens and Bill Walker [5] faced off in a slam dunk contest. Marquis Daniels [6] and Wallace were the official judges, holding up their scores on dry-erase boards. Walker started off strong with a windmill dunk but it was Giddens who stole the show. “The between the legs one? A 10,” ranked Perkins. “That was alright, especially in practice.” Just alright? The dunk sent Eddie House [7] running around the court and had Glen Davis [8] rolling backward.

- House and Ray Allen [9] took to the line for a free throw competition. The team’s top two free throw shooters were flawless despite desperate attempts from the Celtics to distract them. Rivers encouraged the crowd to make noise, Paul Pierce [10] leaped under the basket as House and Allen squared up, the buzzer sounded, even Danny Ainge threw up shots to shake the pair. In the end, the duel ended in a tie without either player missing a free throw.

The Celtics will practice — think drills, not contests — on Sunday before taking on the Mavericks Monday night at 8pm in Boston.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/01/16/celtics-stay-loose-at-practice/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[3] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[4] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[5] Bill Walker: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-walker.htm

[6] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[7] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[8] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[9] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[10] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[11] > Celtics stay loose at practice" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/01/16/celtics-stay-loose-at-practice/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.