- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc on Dirk: There’s never been a player like him

Posted By Mike Petraglia On January 18, 2010 @ 8:28 pm In General | No Comments

Doc Rivers [1] has seen plenty of great players in his time as a player and coach in the NBA.

But he says he’s never seen one like Dirk Nowitzki [2].

What makes the 7-foot big man so special is his ability to roam the court like a guard.

“I don’t think there’s ever been a player like Dirk, honestly,” Rivers said. “He’s a rare [player]. He’s literally an original. There’s been seven-footers who can shoot, there’s been seven-footers who can pass but there’s been none who can do all of them.”

[Listen to Rivers rave about Dirk [3]]

Reggie Miller [4] was in town Monday night, doing the TNT broadcast with Kevin McHale [5]. And Rivers had the chance to chat with the NBA’s all-time leading three-point specialist.

“I was laughing with Reggie Miller,” Rivers said. “They’re running plays for Dirk that we run for Ray Allen [6] and teams [used to] run for Reggie Miller. Bringing him off triple-screens. You just haven’t seen that. The next coming of that would be the kid in Oklahoma, [Kevin] Durant [7]. They’re the only two guys like that.”

Rasheed Wallace [8] picked a heckuva time to come back after a three-game hiatus with a sore left foot. He had the task of guarding Nowitzki.

“I don’t know if this is the perfect game for him to come back and face Dirk Nowitzki [9],” Rivers said. “That’s a tall order but that’s the order we have and he’s got to follow through.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/01/18/doc-on-dirk-theres-never-been-a-player-like-him/

URLs in this post:

[1] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[2] Dirk Nowitzki: http://weei.stats.com/nba/playerstats.asp?id=3252&team=

[3] Listen to Rivers rave about Dirk: http://greenstreet.weei.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/011810_docrivers_neverbeenaplayerlikedirk.mp3

[4] Reggie Miller: http://media.weei.com/basketball/reggie-miller.htm

[5] Kevin McHale: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-mchale.htm

[6] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[7] Kevin] Durant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-durant.htm

[8] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[9] Dirk Nowitzki: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dirk-nowitzki.htm

[10] > Doc on Dirk: There’s never been a player like him" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/01/18/doc-on-dirk-theres-never-been-a-player-like-him/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.