- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Pierce day-to-day

Posted By Paul Flannery On February 2, 2010 @ 9:41 pm In General | 2 Comments

After a day of wild speculation, the Celtics [1] released a statement late Tuesday evening which said:

Paul Pierce [2] suffered a strained left mid-foot during the first quarter against the Washington Wizards [3] on February 1. He is currently listed as day-to-day.”

Earlier in the day, TNT’s David Aldridge put out a report [4] that had an unidentified source telling him that Pierce may have broken his foot. The Celtics countered that by saying the report was premature. The team was expected to make an announcement Wednesday.

The full extent of Pierce’s injury is still unclear, as is a possible timeline for his return. If he is out for a significant amount of time it will test the Celtics depth. Marquis Daniels [5] is not expected to rejoin the team until the All-Star break. That leaves Tony Allen [6] and Brian Scalabrine [7] as the likely replacements for Pierce, with Bill Walker [8] waiting in the wings.

The injury could also affect Pierce’s participation in the All-Star game, although that is the least of the Celtics concerns right now. They play four games before the break with the last one coming next Wednesday in New Orleans. They then have six days before they head out West to play the Kings. That long stretch of time could prove beneficial not only to Pierce, but also to their other injured star, Kevin Garnett [9].


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/02/pierce-day-to-day/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[3] Washington Wizards: http://media.weei.com/basketball/washington-wizards.htm

[4] put out a report: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/02/report-pierce-may-have-broken-foot/

[5] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[6] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[7] Brian Scalabrine: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brian-scalabrine.htm

[8] Bill Walker: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-walker.htm

[9] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[10] > Pierce day-to-day" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/02/pierce-day-to-day/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.