- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics vs. Nets

Posted By Jessica Camerato On February 5, 2010 @ 10:01 pm In General | No Comments

The Celtics [1] may have won the game, 96-87, but it wasn’t pretty. The Nets [2] tested the C’s for the majority of the game and led, 73-72, heading into the fourth quarter.The Celtics allowed the Nets to shoot at an astonishingly high percentage in the first half (63.3 percent, compared to their league-worst season average of 42.2 percent). The C’s were also outplayed in the paint.

But the Celtics were carried by their backcourt and bench — a game-high 26 points from Ray Allen [3], 17 from Rajon Rondo [4], and a combined 30 from Rasheed Wallace [5], Eddie House [6] and Glen Davis [7] led the Celtics to avoid a humiliating loss against the worst team in the NBA.

Player of the game: Eddie House scored all 10 of his points in the fourth quarter and took back the game for the Celtics. House had shot 0-for-4 from the field, including 0-for-3 from 3-point range, heading into the final quarter.

Turning point: House hit a 3-pointer with nine minutes left in the game to put the Celtics up 77-75. The C’s forced a turnover on the next possession, and Bill Walker [8] drew a foul to push the lead to four. This gave the C’s the edge and control over the ballgame.

- Ray Allen led a balanced attack throughout the game, scoring 11 points in the first half and another 15 in the second.

- Brook Lopez [9] won the battle of the bigs against Kendrick Perkins [10]. He posted 19 points and six rebounds in 41 minutes. Perkins scored six points and grabbed seven rebounds in 26 minutes.

- The Celtics committed a pair of careless turnovers down the stretch. They were called for a 24-second violation shortly followed by an eight-second violation. Earlier in the game, officials rescinded a fourth-quarter trey by House and ruled that a 24-second shot clock violation had occurred.

- The Celtics will face the Magic on Sunday in Boston. The Magic lost on Friday night to the Wizards.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/05/fast-break-celtics-vs-nets/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] The Nets: http://media.weei.com/basketball/new-jersey-nets.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[5] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[6] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[7] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[8] Bill Walker: http://media.weei.com/basketball/bill-walker.htm

[9] Brook Lopez: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brook-lopez.htm

[10] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[11] > Fast Break: Celtics vs. Nets" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/05/fast-break-celtics-vs-nets/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.