Green Street
A Celtics Blog Blog Network

Pierce officially in Three-Point Shootout

02.05.10 at 3:37 pm ET

Paul Pierce is now officially among the field of six who will take part in the NBA Three-Point Shootout on Sat., Feb. 12, in Dallas. Pierce’s 46.7 percent from long range this year leads the group, though his 37.0 percent career rate from distance is the second worst among the six competitors, behind only 2009 champion Daequan Cook of the Heat.

No member of the Celtics has won since Larry Bird took each of the first three Three-Point Shootout titles, from 1986-88.

Here is the NBA’s press release about the competition:

NEW YORK, Feb. 5, 2010 ‘€“ 2010 All-Stars Chauncey Billups of the Denver Nuggets and Paul Pierce of the Boston Celtics headline a field of six in this year’€™s Foot Locker Three-Point Shootout, which will be held on Saturday, Feb. 13, at American Airlines Center in Dallas as part of NBA All-Star Saturday Night. Reigning champion Daequan Cook of the Miami Heat returns in an attempt to become the sixth player to capture consecutive titles.

Rounding out the field are T-Mobile Rookie Challenge & Youth Jam invitees Stephen Curry of the Golden State Warriors and Danilo Gallinari of the New York Knicks, and the Phoenix Suns‘€™ Channing Frye.

Cook bested the Orlando Magic‘€™s Rashard Lewis in last year’€™s contest, scoring 19 points in an overtime round to walk away with the title. Mark Price, Jeff Hornacek, Jason Kapono and Peja Stojakovic each won two titles; Larry Bird and Craig Hodges captured three straight.

Dallas hosted the inaugural Three-Point event in 1986, which was held in Reunion Arena, with Bird defeating Hodges in the final round.

Read More: Channing Frye, Chauncey Billups, daequan cook, danilo gallinari
Celtics Box Score
Celtics Schedule
Celtics Headlines
NBA Headlines