- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Second quarter wrap: Celtics vs. Magic

Posted By Paul Flannery On February 7, 2010 @ 3:35 pm In General | 1 Comment

Playing one of their most complete quarters in recent memory, the Celtics [1] opened up a 51-40 lead at the half.

The Celtics opened the second quarter with five reserves on the floor, a departure from their usual rotation of either Ray Allen [2] or Paul Pierce [3] teaming up with four bench players. The second unit responded well as Marquis Daniels [4] scored six quick points on post-ups.

Rasheed Wallace [5] also continued his mastery over Dwight Howard [6] by getting Howard to commit a needless offensive foul, the third of the half for the All-Star big man. Howard played just eight minutes in the first half with two points and three rebounds.

The Celtics gradually built a lead that grew to double digits after Rajon Rondo [7] found Pierce for a 3-pointer with a gorgeous look-away pass in traffic. Rondo has 11 points, three rebounds and four assists, while Allen also had 11 points and Pierce added nine. Kevin Garnett [8] was held scoreless but contributed five rebounds and his usual stellar help defense.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/07/second-quarter-wrap-celtics-vs-magic/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[3] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[4] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[5] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[6] Dwight Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/dwight-howard.htm

[7] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[8] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[9] > Second quarter wrap: Celtics vs. Magic" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/07/second-quarter-wrap-celtics-vs-magic/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[10]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.