- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics vs. Hornets

Posted By Paul Flannery On February 10, 2010 @ 10:34 pm In General | 4 Comments

At what point does a string of bad performances become a problem that can’t be fixed? At what point does the Celtics [1] uninspired second-half play inspire Danny Ainge to do something to change the mix?

Ainge was a guest on The Big Show hours before the Celtics collapsed (again) in the third quarter of a 93-85 loss to the Hornets Wednesday night and said he was, “not ready to blow it up.” [Click here for a full transcript [2]]. If the Magic breakdown wasn’t enough to change Ainge’s mind, was this one?

There’s a week to go before the trade deadline and the Celtics have shown few signs of breaking out of their funk, which has now stretched to 23 games. The Celtics are 10-13 over that span. Is that the real Celtics, or is it the team that started the season winning 22 of the first 27 games? That’s the question Ainge has to answer, and time is running out.

Player of the Game: Darren Collison. The Hornets rookie who was starting in place of the injured Chris Paul [3] routinely broke down the Celtics defense with dribble penetration and finished with 25 points and nine assists. When Collison wasn’t getting into the paint, he killed them with his pull-up jump shot.

Turning Point: Once again the Celtics collapse started with a sluggish offense and carried over to a lackluster defensive effort. The Celtics actually held serve with the Hornets until the 7:26 mark of the third quarter. That was when Morris Peterson and Peja Stojakovic began to heat up from behind the arc. The 3-point barrage was eerily similar to the Magic game, as was the Celtics lack of an answer on offense.

* Ray Allen [4] was scratched about an hour before the game with back spasms. It was the first game Allen has missed this season.

* The Celtics started off hot, but the Hornets got hotter making eight of their first 10 shots.The C’s also turned the ball over nine times in the first quarter.

* The second unit rode to the rescue, at least momentarily, with an inspired effort. With all five starters on the bench, the reserves opened up a nine-point lead in the second quarter. They did most of their damage down low as Glen Davis [5] (nine points) and Rasheed Wallace [6] (eight points) took advantage of mismatches against the Hornets reserve big men.

* Eddie House [7] and Marquis Daniels [8] also played the entire quarter ahead of starters Rajon Rondo [9] and Tony Allen [10].

* Paul Pierce [11] did play despite pain in his left foot. After 13 points in the first half, Pierce scored just two points in the second.

* The Celtics made just 3-of-13 free throws during a stretch of the second half.

* Daniels and Wallace were the only Celtics who played strong games. They combined for 27 points, seven rebounds and six assists.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/10/fast-break-celtics-vs-hornets/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Click here for a full transcript: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/10/danny-ainge-on-the-big-show-were-going-to-try-to-do-something/

[3] Chris Paul: http://media.weei.com/basketball/chris-paul-new-orleans.htm

[4] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[5] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[6] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[7] Eddie House: http://media.weei.com/basketball/eddie-house.htm

[8] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[9] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[10] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[11] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[12] > Fast Break: Celtics vs. Hornets" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/10/fast-break-celtics-vs-hornets/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[13]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.