- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics vs. Lakers: Just Another Game?

Posted By Jessica Camerato On February 18, 2010 @ 12:18 am In General | 1 Comment

To Rajon Rondo [1], a trip to the Staples Center [2] in the middle of February feels the same as a stop at any other arena.

He sees a basketball court, not the banners hanging above it. And regardless of the rivalry against the home team, he is simply focused on leaving with a win.

‘€œIt’€™s not like a championship game,’€ he explained. ‘€œIt’€™s not a series. It’€™s one game. It helps our record or hurts our record, one way or the other. It’€™s another game.’€

On Thursday, the Celtics [3] will take on the Lakers in their final match up of the regular season. The last time the teams met on Jan. 31, the C’€™s blew an 11-point fourth quarter lead and watched Kobe Bryant [4] sink a game-winner with 7.3 seconds left.

In spite of the desire to avenge their loss, Rondo’€™s right. This isn’€™t a championship game. In fact, at this point in the season it is more about the Celtics vs. themselves rather than the Celtics vs. the Lakers.

The C’€™s have been their own worst enemy lately, surrendering leads and making mistakes down the stretch. This game against Los Angeles, the second stop on a four-game West Coast road trip, will be a test for them to get back to Celtics basketball after a recent departure.

‘€œIt’€™s important,’€œ Paul Pierce [5] said of the entire road trip. ‘€œWe want to go out there and start playing better, start playing more consistent basketball. We know it’€™s a tough trip, and maybe this is a chance for us to get out on the road and get ourselves back together because we really struggled over the last month-and-a-half.’€

The loss to the Lakers capped off a three-game losing streak and a month of January in which the Celtics went 6-8. They entered the All-Star Break on a two-game skid, still struggling to put together 48 minutes of basketball.

A win over the Lakers would give them momentum to jumpstart the second half of the season. They narrowly edged the 18-win Kings on Tuesday night and will face the playoff contending Trail Blazers, Nuggets, and Cavaliers [6] over the course of the next week.

‘€œNext is down to business,’€ said Kevin Garnett [7]. ‘€œObviously trying to play better, consistent basketball for the Celtics and being productive. So that’€™s what’€™s next for us.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/18/celtics-vs-lakers-just-another-game/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[2] Staples Center: http://media.weei.com/basketball/staples-center.htm

[3] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[4] Kobe Bryant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kobe-bryant.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[7] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[8] > Celtics vs. Lakers: Just Another Game?" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/18/celtics-vs-lakers-just-another-game/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.