- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Halftime wrap: Celtics vs. Blazers

Posted By Paul Flannery On February 19, 2010 @ 11:43 pm In General | No Comments

After a hot start offensively, the Celtics [1] put the clamps down defensively, holding the Blazers to just three field goals in the quarter to take a 56-38 lead into halftime.

Portland scored just six points in the first six minutes of the quarter as the Celtics built a 45-31 lead with their second unit. The starters picked it up from there as Kevin Garnett [2] knocked down his first 3-pointer of the season on a desperation heave as the shot clock expired. Garnett followed that with a length-of-the-floor layup off a feed from Rajon Rondo [3].

The Celtics physical defense got to the Blazers late in the half as Kendrick Perkins [4] and Andre Miller [5] became entangled under the basket. Perkins and Juwan Howard [6] were assessed double technical fouls

Rondo capped off the quarter with a buzzer-beating 20-foot jump shot. He has eight points and nine assists, while Garnett leads all scorers with 13 points and seven rebounds.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/19/halftime-wrap-celtics-vs-blazers/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[3] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[4] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[5] Andre Miller: http://media.weei.com/basketball/andre-miller.htm

[6] Juwan Howard: http://media.weei.com/basketball/juwan-howard.htm

[7] > Halftime wrap: Celtics vs. Blazers" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/02/19/halftime-wrap-celtics-vs-blazers/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.