- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Allen: ‘We’ve got a bunch of leaders’

Posted By Jessica Camerato On March 15, 2010 @ 7:14 pm In General | No Comments

Following their loss to the Cavaliers [1] on Sunday, the leadership of the Celtics [2] came into question. As in, where is it coming from?

Ray Allen [3] says the Celtics don’€™t come down to one or two individuals. They are not led by a single player, he notes. Never have been nor do they plan on becoming so.

‘€œThe same as it’€™s always been,’€ he said prior to the Celtics – Pistons game on Monday. ‘€œWe’€™ve got a bunch of leaders on this team.’€

Kendrick Perkins [4] offered a remedy to help the Celtics on Sunday after LeBron James [5] led the Cavs to victory.

‘€œI think maybe a different guy gotta try to step up and be a leader,’€œ reported the Boston Globe [6]. ‘€œI think sometimes you try to feed off your All-Stars, but maybe somebody else gotta step up. I’€™m talking about leading by example. One spark or positive energy on the court and guys tend to feed off that. Maybe it’€™s gotta be me, Rondo, ‘€™Sheed, somebody.’€™’€™

A day later, Doc Rivers [7] echoed the notion of players needing to step up. He believes his players have it in them, it is just a matter of putting it out there on the court. He pointed out Rasheed Wallace [8] and Marquis Daniels [9] specifically as two players the Celtics need better production from.

“I don’t care how frustrating it gets for me,” Rivers said before Monday’s game [10]. “I see it, and if you see it or not, I see it and I’m going to get it out of you. And that’s what I told them after the game [Sunday]. I don’t know how but I will get it out of you.”


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/03/15/allen-weve-got-a-bunch-of-leaders/

URLs in this post:

[1] Cavaliers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/cleveland-cavaliers.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[4] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[5] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[6] reported the Boston Globe: http://www.boston.com/sports/basketball/celtics/articles/2010/03/15/these_two_celtics_must_rescue_big_three/?page=2

[7] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[8] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[9] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[10] Rivers said before Monday’s game: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/03/15/doc-im-not-giving-up-on-the-team/

[11] > Allen: ‘We’ve got a bunch of leaders’" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/03/15/allen-weve-got-a-bunch-of-leaders/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.