- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Fast Break: Celtics – Pistons

Posted By Jessica Camerato On March 15, 2010 @ 9:42 pm In General | 1 Comment

No one on the Celtics [1] scored more than 15 points yet they beat the Pistons by 26, 119-93, on Monday in Boston.

The victory was a total team effort, the kind of win the Celtics needed after their leadership had been critiqued. Ray Allen [2] said the team has “a bunch of leaders [3],” and showed up on Monday. Every player on the C’s scored.

Allen, Michael Finley [4], and Paul Pierce [5] scored 15 points apiece; Kevin Garnett [6] scored 14; Glen Davis [7] contributed 13; and Kendrick Perkins [8] and Marquis Daniels [9] each added 11. (Rajon Rondo [10] scored just three points and dished six assists.) The Celtics shot 62.2 percent from the field, 0.1 percent away from their season high.

Player of the Game: Finley was the spark plug off the bench the Celtics have needed. He started off shooting a perfect 3-for-3 and finished the game 6-for-7 from the field and 3-for-4 from behind the arc. Finley’s 15 was the most he has scored since October 20, 2009 when he posted 20 against the Thunder in preseason action.

Turning Point: After being tied 6-6 five minutes into the game, the Celtics went on a 14-3 run early in the first quarter. They got up by as many as 18 early on and never gave up their lead.

Tayshaun Prince [11] left the game with 4:53 remaining in the third after hitting his lower back against Jason Maxiell’s knee while fighting for a rebound. A timeout was called as Prince lay on the court and received medical attention. He was eventually helped off by the Pistons staff and did not return to the game.

– Before the game, Doc Rivers [12] affirmed that he is not giving up on the Celtics [13]. ‘€œI don’€™t care how frustrating it gets for me,’€ he said. ‘€œI see it, and if you see it or not, I see it and I’€™m going to get it out of you. And that’€™s what I told them after the game [Sunday]. I don’€™t know how but I will get it out of you.’€ Rivers also pointed out Rasheed Wallace [14] and Marquis Daniels and said both players could be more productive. Wallace posted 8 points and 4 rebounds; Daniels contributed 11 points and 5 boards.

Tony Allen [15] set Nate Robinson [16] up for an alley-oop dunk off the backboard with 43.5 seconds left. Despite drawing a standing O from the crowd, Robinson was called for a technical for hanging on the rim.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/03/15/fast-break-celtics-pistons-2/

URLs in this post:

[1] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Ray Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[3] the team has “a bunch of leaders: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/03/15/allen-weve-got-a-bunch-of-leaders/

[4] Michael Finley: http://media.weei.com/basketball/michael-finley.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[7] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[8] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[9] Marquis Daniels: http://media.weei.com/basketball/marquis-daniels.htm

[10] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[11] Tayshaun Prince: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tayshaun-prince.htm

[12] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[13] not giving up on the Celtics: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/03/15/doc-im-not-giving-up-on-the-team/

[14] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[15] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[16] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[17] > Fast Break: Celtics – Pistons" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/03/15/fast-break-celtics-pistons-2/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[18]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.