- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Pierce named NBA Player of the Week

Posted By WEEI On March 22, 2010 @ 2:44 pm In General | No Comments

The NBA issued the following release on the NBA Players of the Week:

The Boston Celtics [1]‘€™ Paul Pierce [2] and the Los Angeles Lakers [3]‘€™ Pau Gasol [4] today were named the Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Week, respectively, for games played March 15-21.

Pierce led Boston to a 4-0 week, with wins over Detroit, New York, Houston and Dallas. Pierce averaged 24.8 points ‘€“ 6.7 points above than his season average (18.1 ppg) ‘€“ on .630 shooting in 26.4 minutes. Pierce also added 3.8 rebounds, 2.3 assists and 1.8 steals. On March 20, Pierce scored 29 points and added five assists, three rebounds and two steals in the Celtics’€™ 102-93 win at Dallas.

Gasol averaged 24.8 points on .685 shooting (third in the NBA), 11.8 rebounds, 3.4 assists and 1.0 block, leading the Lakers to a 4-0 week with wins over Golden State, Sacramento, Minnesota and Washington. Gasol recorded three point-rebounds double-doubles and on March 16, tallied 28 points, 14 rebounds and four assists in the Lakers’€™ 106-99 win at Sacramento.

Here is a recap of the week for Pierce and Gasol:

Paul Pierce, Boston Celtics
March 15 vs. Detroit: Posted 15 points, three assists and two steals in a 119-93 win over the Pistons.
March 17 vs. New York: Tallied 29 points and six rebounds in a 109-97 win over the Knicks.
March 19 @ Houston: Totaled 26 points, five rebounds and two steals in a 94-87 win over the Rockets.
March 20 @ Dallas: Collected 29 points, five assists, three rebounds and two steals in a 102-93 win over the Mavericks.

Paul Gasol, Los Angeles Lakers
March 15 @ Golden State: Posted 26 points, nine rebounds and four assists in a 124-121 win over the Warriors.
March 16 @ Sacramento: Totaled 28 points, 12 rebounds and four assists in a 106-99 win over the Kings.
March 19 vs. Minnesota: Collected 17 points, 14 rebounds and four assists in a 104-96 win over the Timberwolves [5].
March 21 vs. Washington: Tallied 28 points, 12 rebounds and three assists in a 99-92 win over the Wizards.

Other nominees for the Eastern and Western Conference Players of the Week were Atlanta’€™s Jamal Crawford [6] and Al Horford, Cleveland’€™s LeBron James [7], Houston’€™s Aaron Brooks, Indiana’€™s Danny Granger [8], Milwaukee’€™s Brandon Jennings [9] and Phoenix’€™s Amar’€™e Stoudemire.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/03/22/pierce-named-nba-player-of-the-week/

URLs in this post:

[1] Boston Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[2] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[3] Los Angeles Lakers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/los-angeles-lakers.htm

[4] Pau Gasol: http://media.weei.com/basketball/pau-gasol.htm

[5] Timberwolves: http://media.weei.com/basketball/minnesota-timberwolves.htm

[6] Jamal Crawford: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jamal-crawford.htm

[7] LeBron James: http://media.weei.com/basketball/lebron-james.htm

[8] Danny Granger: http://media.weei.com/basketball/danny-granger.htm

[9] Brandon Jennings: http://media.weei.com/basketball/brandon-jennings.htm

[10] > Pierce named NBA Player of the Week" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/03/22/pierce-named-nba-player-of-the-week/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[11]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.