- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Celtics curse Kevin Durant

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 1, 2010 @ 3:21 am In General | 3 Comments

You know you’re good when a pair of NBA veterans curse your performance after you lead your team to a win on their home court.

Kevin Durant [1] is that good — and then some.

He scored from every spot on the court, including the free throw line — where he made all 15 attempts. When all was said and done, the Celtics [2] watched him pour in 37 points in Oklahoma City’s 109-104 win over the Green on Wednesday at TD Garden.

‘€œIt’€™s a team job to help out, period,” Rasheed Wallace [3] said. “No matter whether it’€™s him or any other type of NBA All-Star, it’€™s a team effort to help out. It was a [pain], honestly. Helping Paul [Pierce [4]] and Ray [Allen [5]] out, it’€™s just a team thing. Got to stay with him.’€

As for those 15 free throws, compare that to the fact the Celtics as a team made just 13-of-17 attempts the entire game.

‘€œI thought we were playing Michael [expletive] Jordan tonight the way he was getting the whistle,” Kevin Garnett [6] added. “Durant damn near shot more free throws than our whole team.’€

With Durant, Jeff Green [7] and Russell Westbrook [8] at the point, these are not your mother’s Oklahoma City Thunder [9] — or even Seattle Supersonics, for that matter.

‘€œWe’€™ve grown, we’€™ve grown up,” Durant said. “We’€™ve added a lot of different pieces since our first year, me and Jeff. So it’€™s good to come in here and beat a team like Boston — a great team, a championship team like them. It’€™s all about moving on from here.

‘€œIt means a lot for us, and like you say gives us confidence. We’€™ve got eight more games left, so we’ve just got to keep plugging away and keep pushing. This is another step for us. We’€™re happy with this win, but tomorrow we’ve got to let it go and get ready for Dallas.’€

Maybe most impressive is the fact the Thunder shot 50 percent, 10 percent less than their opponent — on their opponent’s home court — and still managed to win.

‘€œIf you want a tape about how to score the basketball, you’ve got to watch this game,” Durant said. “They scored it in a variety of ways and we scored in a variety of ways as well. Our point guard did a great job of starting us off early, getting to the rim and opening things up for everybody else. It was a great game as far as offensive is concerned. We’ve just got to work on our defense from here.’€

Glen Davis [10] was one of the last Celtics to give his take on Durant on Wednesday, and he didn’t even need any dirty words.

‘€œHe’€™s a problem because you’ve got to pay attention to him,” Davis said. “You’ve got to make sure he doesn’€™t beat you, and he had a big game tonight. We’€™ve got to get him out of his comfort zone and make sure he doesn’€™t have 37, but he did.’€


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/01/celtics-curse-kevin-durant/

URLs in this post:

[1] Kevin Durant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-durant.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Rasheed Wallace: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rasheed-wallace.htm

[4] Paul [Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[5] Ray [Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/ray-allen-celtics.htm

[6] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[7] Jeff Green: http://media.weei.com/basketball/jeff-green.htm

[8] Russell Westbrook: http://media.weei.com/basketball/russell-westbrook.htm

[9] Oklahoma City Thunder: http://media.weei.com/basketball/oklahoma-city-thunder.htm

[10] Glen Davis: http://media.weei.com/basketball/glen-davis.htm

[11] > Celtics curse Kevin Durant" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/01/celtics-curse-kevin-durant/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[12]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.