- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Doc’s 25-point plan for free speech

Posted By Mike Petraglia On April 2, 2010 @ 9:11 pm In General | 1 Comment

Doc Rivers [1] is a man on a mission.

He wants every player and coach to be able to freely speak their mind without fear of retribution from Stu Jackson, the NBA’s chief officer in charge of behavior.

Jackson levied a fine of $25,000 on Friday to Kevin Garnett [2] for his decision to give Michael Jordan [3] a new middle name when referencing the breaks he thought Kevin Durant [4] was getting from officials on Wednesday night.

Instead of the player paying it, he wants the people responsible to foot the bill.

“The next time that happens, I have a solution. Each one of you guys should pitch in a thousand dollars until we get to [fine total],” Rivers suggested, tongue-in-cheek we think.

The reason there’s some truth in what Rivers believes occurred last year when Rivers was docked $25,000 during the playoffs when he was asked during a press conference if he thought Kendrick Perkins [5] was being targeted by officials.

But in all seriousness, Rivers shed some light on how the fines are administered. They are automatically deducted from a player or coach’s paycheck.

“If we had to write a check,they’d never get the money,” Rivers said, again joking we think.

Rivers also talked before the game about the progress of the second unit and how Nate Robinson [6], even when he isn’t scoring that much like Wednesday night, is still having a positive impact on the reserves.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/02/docs-25-point-plan-for-free-speech/

URLs in this post:

[1] Doc Rivers: http://media.weei.com/basketball/doc-rivers.htm

[2] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[3] Michael Jordan: http://media.weei.com/basketball/michael-jordan.htm

[4] Kevin Durant: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-durant.htm

[5] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[6] Nate Robinson: http://media.weei.com/basketball/nate-robinson.htm

[7] > Doc’s 25-point plan for free speech" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/02/docs-25-point-plan-for-free-speech/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[8]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.