- Green Street - http://greenstreet.weei.com -

Halftime: Celtics – Rockets

Posted By Jessica Camerato On April 2, 2010 @ 8:41 pm In General | No Comments

Rajon Rondo [1] made Celtics [2] history less than five minutes into the game when he broke Bob Cousy’s 50-year-old single season assist record. Rondo dished his 716th dime of the season, an alley-oop to Kevin Garnett [3], to set the mark. (Earlier in the season, Rondo passed Rick Fox for the franchise mark in single-season steals.)

But back to the game. The Celtics gave up an early 11-point lead to trail the Rockets 32-30 after the first quarter. The Rockets closed the quarter on a 19-6 run, led by eight points in less than six minutes from Kyle Lowry [4]. Paul Pierce [5], Kendrick Perkins [6], and Aaron Brooks also scored eight in the quarter. The Celtics outshot the Rockets, 59 percent to 50 percent, but were outrebounded, 12-7.

The C’s trailed in the second quarter before Rondo sparked a comeback. Rondo leapt for a defensive rebound and threw an outlet pass as he lost his balance, which Pierce connected for a lay-in. On the next possession, he set Perkins up for a bucket. The C’s took the lead back on a dunk by Tony Allen [7]. The Rockets fought back, though, and are up 57-53 at halftime.

Brooks leads all players with 17 points. Pierce has 14 for the Celtics. Rondo has a game-high seven assists.


Article printed from Green Street: http://greenstreet.weei.com

URL to article: http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/02/halftime-celtics-rockets/

URLs in this post:

[1] Rajon Rondo: http://media.weei.com/basketball/rajon-rondo.htm

[2] Celtics: http://media.weei.com/basketball/boston-celtics.htm

[3] Kevin Garnett: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kevin-garnett.htm

[4] Kyle Lowry: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kyle-lowry.htm

[5] Paul Pierce: http://media.weei.com/basketball/paul-pierce.htm

[6] Kendrick Perkins: http://media.weei.com/basketball/kendrick-perkins.htm

[7] Tony Allen: http://media.weei.com/basketball/tony-allen.htm

[8] > Halftime: Celtics – Rockets" data-url="http://greenstreet.weei.com/sports/boston/basketball/celtics/2010/04/02/halftime-celtics-rockets/">Tweet: http://twitter.com/share

[9]  : #disqus_thread

Copyright © 2014 WEEI.com. All rights reserved.